Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools:
- InfoHawk+Use InfoHawk+ to search for books & e-books by title, author, keyword and more.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIf we don't have the book you're looking for, use WorldCat to search libraries all over the world. Use the "Check for Electronic Resources" link to request the book via Interlibrary Loan.
- E-Book CollectionsE-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Library E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
- Cambridge E-Book CollectionOffers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch and view EBSCOhost's collection of eBooks.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new windowElsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
- Springer E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer since 2005.
- Wiley E-Books This link opens in a new windowWiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009.
Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThe content of the 92nd Edition, 2011-2012, of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is now available online. Use the Table of Contents to explore different sections of the handbook.
- Dictionary of PhysicsThis dictionary contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry.
- Dictionary of Pure and Applied PhysicsConcise, authoritative definitions of more than 3,000 terms covering a range of pure and applied disciplines including: acoustics, biophysics, communications, electricity, electronics, geometrical optics, low-temperature physics, magnetism, medical physics, and physical optics.
- Encyclopedia of Condensed Matter Physics This link opens in a new windowEdited by Franco Bassani, Gerald L. Liedl and Peter Wyder. This Encyclopedia covers selected key topics in the field of condensed matter physics, provides historical background to some of the major areas and directs the reader, through detailed references, to further reading resources. Authors were sought from those who have made major contributions and worked actively in the area of the topic.
- International Tables for Crystallography This link opens in a new windowThe online version of International Tables for Crystallography provides access to a fully interactive symmetry database and all eight volumes in the series in pdf and richly linked html format.
- Nanotechnology This link opens in a new windowNot only fundamentals but also applications of nanotechnology are presented in close to 100 contributions by leading professionals in this field.
- Optics EncyclopediaWith around 100 expert articles in 5 volumes, The Optics Encyclopedia is a rapid reference for skilled professionals, while newcomers from physics and engineering will appreciate its readily comprehensible style and structure.
Books in Print
The Physics Handbook by Call Number: Engineering Library QC61 .P65 1998ISBN: 0471181730Publication Date: 1998-09-10Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Feynman Lectures on Physics by Call Number: Sciences Library Permanent Reserve FOLIO QC30 .F4ISBN: 0201021153Publication Date: 1970-01-01Includes Indexes.
v. 1. Mainly mechanics, radiation, and heat -- v. 2. The electromagnetic fields -- v. 3. Quantum mechanics.
James A. Van Allen Papers
The papers of Dr. James A. Van Allen, 1914-, comprise a diverse and rich record of one of the leading scientists in the early exploration and study of the upper atmosphere, the near-Earth space environment, and the solar system using rocket propelled vehicles. The papers span fifty years and provide ample documentation of his central participation in this signal scientific achievement of the 20th century. In addition to detailing Van Allen's productive research career, these records illuminate broader themes in the evolution of science after World War II.