Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cross Cultural Health Care Program (CCHCP)
"The CCHCP serves as a bridge between communities and health care institutions to ensure full access to quality health care that is culturally and linguistically appropriate."
Cultural Competence Resources for Health Care Providers
Includes the following resources: assessment tools, training information, and information on health care delivery to special populations.
Culture, Language, and Health Literacy Resources
From the Office of Health Equity at the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) agency (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) these resources help healthcare provides recognize and address the unique culture, language and health literacy of diverse consumers and communities.
More resources as compiled by the National Institutes of Health/National Library of Medicine. Some of these links are provided in other sections of this guide.
EthnoMed: Cross-Cultural Health Care Program
This site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to US.
Health Equity Archive
Formerly the Minority Health Archive, this online repository includes materials related to the health of minority racial, ethnic, and other vulnerable groups in the United States and globally.
Minority Health Archive
Comprises an online archive of print and electronic media related to the health of minority racial and ethnic groups in the United States.
National Center for Cultural Competence
“The mission of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems.”
National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
"The mission of the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) is to promote minority health and to lead, coordinate, support, and assess the NIH effort to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities."
National Standards on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS)
“The CLAS standards are primarily directed at health care organizations; however, individual providers are also encouraged to use the standards to make their practices more culturally and linguistically accessible."
Office of Minority Health
This site contains links to initiatives, programs, national standards, and health disparities information.
Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Health Knowledge Path
This knowledge path has been compiled by the Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University. It offers a selection of current, high-quality resources about preventing, identifying, and eliminating racial and ethnic disparities in health.
Think Cultural Health
Sponsored by the Office of Minority Health, this site offers a free online program for health professionals interested in cultural competence.
Transcultural Nursing Society
"The mission of TCNS is to enhance the quality of culturally congruent, competent, and equitable care that results in improved health and well being for people worldwide."