MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine’s comprehensive information source, designed for the general public. It provides patient and consumer health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in both English and Spanish. It includes videos of common procedures, a directory of health organizations, a medical encyclopedia, and a guide to drugs and supplements.

ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download book chapter PDFs.

AccessMedicine.com is an online resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. It is updated daily. The service's central resource is a repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. All databases in the repository contain the latest editions core medical titles from the AccessLange collection.

AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.

Electronic medical library.

DynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings.

Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

Micromedex is a search engine for drug databases that provides in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions as well as dosing calculators. Databases searched include POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, PDR, MARTINDALE, and RED BOOK.

UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine and the University of Iowa Health Care.]

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical support tool that includes over 2,800 adult and pediatric conditions as well as over 40,000 images. Clinicians can search by a diagnosis, build a patient- specific differential, or review over 20,000 medication reactions and adverse events. With expanded content across general medicine, VisualDx delivers speed and diagnostic accuracy at the point of care.

Mobile Device Users will need to create an account while logged in on-campus.

McGraw-Hill's Diagnosaurus 2.0 on AccessMedicine is a differential diagnosis tool that allows you to search 1000+ of differential diagnoses by: Symptoms, Diseases, & Organ system.

NatMed Pro provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. This resource includes evidence-based monographs, commercial product ratings for over 90,000 dietary supplement products, an interaction checker, an effectiveness checker, and a nutrient depletion checker. (This resource was previously called Natural Medicines).

Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..

RECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit