Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
"Free access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.”
Annals of Iowa
The Annals of Iowa is a thought-provoking history journal to satisfy even the most serious explorer of Iowa's past. Published quarterly, The Annals of Iowa is more than a mere rehashing of historical anecdotes. The Annals examines the deeds, misdeeds, and accomplishments of our predecessors and shows you how those actions fit into the larger mosaic of Iowa's past.
The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project is a digital library of documents relating to law, history and diplomacy. The project contains online electronic copies of documents dating back to the beginning of history, making it possible to study the original text of not only very famous documents such as the Magna Carta, the English Bill of Rights, and the United States Bill of Rights, but also the text of less well known but significant documents which mark turning points in the history of law and rights.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
EuroDocs: History of Medieval & Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
European History Primary Sources
The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries.
For digital copies of many documents search the Internet Archive. The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
NYPL Digital Collections
Over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections, including historical maps, vintage posters, photographs, and more.
Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is a complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.
Primary Source Documents Pertaining to Early American History
An invaluable collection of historical works which contributed to the formation of American politics, culture, and ideals. The lists a large collection of the literature and documents which were most relevant to the colonists' lives in America.
Access to historic newspapers through the Library of Congress. Browsable by state and date.
Google News Archive Search
Hundreds of newspapers covering over 250 years.
**In May 2011, Google announced it will no longer be accepting, scanning, and indexing microfilm and other archival material from newspapers.
Google Books (change 'Any Books to 'Free Google eBooks'