Annotated Bibliography of Education Journals
- Annotated Bibliography of Journals for Educational ScholarshipCordinated by the SGEA in collaboration with members from the CGEA, NEGEA, WGEA, this annotated bibliography provides scholars and researchers detailed information about the topics, types of manuscripts, and audiences for more than 60 journals that publish health professions education manuscripts.
UI Libraries Open Access Discounts
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThe linked page of the UI Libraries Scholarly Publishing Guide provides information for agreements with publishers, including transformative agreements, APC discounts, and other agreements.
Medical Education Journals
- Academic MedicineJournal of the Association of American Medical Colleges
- Journal of Continuing Education in the Health ProfessionsThe Alliance for Continuing Medical Education, the Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education, and the Council on CME, Association for Hospital Medical Education
- MedEdPORTALMedEdPORTAL is a free peer-reviewed publishing venue and dissemination portal designed to support educators and learners as they create and use on-line teaching materials, assessment tools and faculty development resources.
- Medical EducationAssociation for the Study of Medical Education
Education-Related Literature Searching
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. - CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Good for interdisciplinary topics. - ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new windowERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The University of Iowa Libraries has purchased a subscription providing students, staff, and faculty complimentary, full access. Follow the steps below to register for a complimentary subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education.
- Click the following link to log-in using the UI Libraries subscription. https://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/chronicle
- If off-campus you will need to enter your hawkid and password to gain initial access to the site.
- If you see the message "Site license access provided by University of Iowa" in the top left corner of The Chronicle site, then you are ready for the next step. If you do not see this message, use the link provided above to re-open The Chronicle.
- Click on the 'Sign In' option at the top right corner of the page.
- Choose the 'Sign Up' tab.
- Enter your first and last name. It is essential that you enter your UI email address in this step. Your password can (and should, for the sake of security) be unique to this site. Click 'Sign Up'.
- You'll receive an email asking you to confirm your account.
- From now on you should be able to use this log-in combination -- your UI email and unique password -- to access Chronicle content without using the proxy url log-in process each time.