Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Pediatrics Resources
From Georgetown University, Bright Futures is a national initiative to promote desired social, developmental, and health outcomes of infants, children, and adolescents.
Contains criteria for child abuse under Iowa law, contact information, and policies for mandatory reporting. From the State of Iowa Department of Human Services.
Community Health Needs Assessment
The Iowa Department of Public Health makes these needs assessments available for every county in Iowa. They describe the health of the community, including statistics on health status, community health needs, and epidemiologic data.
From the American Academy of Pediatrics, this site provides information on community-based initiatives, health services, services for children with special needs, and an extensive resources and links directory.
Developmental Milestones: "Act Early"
This resource from the CDC provides developmental milestones for the ages 3 months to 5 years, including social, emotional, cognitive and sensory markers.
eMedicine Pediatrics Medical Reference
This commercial resource includes review articles on hundreds of diseases and disorders.
The goal of GeneralPediatrics.com is to provide a starting point for entry into General Pediatrics places of enlightenment and education on the Internet.
HEALTHmap creates a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Please note that the data sources used are of varying reliability.
Iowa Immunization Program
This site features poison-related information for the public, caregivers, seniors, and health care professionals.
Iowa's Child Passenger Safety Network
This site from Blank Children's Hospital is a resource for parents, caregivers, and certified child passenger safety technicians. It includes information on child safety seats and restraint guidelines.
Searching pediatric peer-reviewed information from AAP, AMA GAPS, Bright Futures, Brown Pediatric Surgery Handbook, CDC Yellow Book, DSM-IV-TR, eMedicine, Epocrates, FDA Orange Book, Hopkins Dermatology Images, Iowa Neonatology Handbook, and others.
The National Center for Infectious Diseases created this site containing data on outbreaks, vaccines, diseases, and health-related travel advice.
Virtual Pediatric Hospital
This digital library contains information for both health professionals and patients.
New Guidelines and Recommendations