ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

In 2021, the Latino Native American Cultural Center (LNACC) celebrates its 50th anniversary. Created in 1971 by Chicano and American Indian students, LNACC has a long and important history at the University of Iowa. This exhibition in the Main Library Gallery shares that history in depth, and explores its establishment in the 1970s, its activism and programs, and much more. LNACC continues to be an active advocate, supporter, and resource for Latino and Native American students at the University of Iowa.

“The Center over the years has provided shelter, friends, music, theater, dance, poetry, books, and many, many discussions which were useful to balance the one-sided education most Chicanos and Native Americans received elsewhere.” -Antonio Zavala, co-founder of LNACC.

From the Curators: The Latino Native American Cultural Center is a living being that carries ancestral knowledge and history through the liveliness in our students’ celebrations, passions, and the overall vibrancy of the center. Celebrating our daily existence and our ancestors is a value that we honor when being of service to the students, community, and future generations.

Exhibit Curation: Rachel Garza Carreón, Christopher Ortega

CURATOR HIGHLIGHTS & EXHIBITION GUIDE

• Curator Highlights from Building Our Own Community
  Select items from the exhibition with additional commentary from Rachel and Chris. Click on each to read more and see items up close.
• Building Our Own Community Exhibition Guide
  Accessible PDF document including curator statements.

VIDEOS

Co-curator Christopher Ortega talks about Spanglish in the student publication Nahuatzen:

VIRTUAL EXHIBIT

• Go to the Building Our Own Community exhibit virtual tour.
  Thank you to the University of Iowa Pentacrest Museums for partnering with the Main Library Gallery to make this 360° virtual experience possible.

 

NEWS & UI LIBRARIES ARTICLES

 

• Building Our Own Community: Exhibit Celebrates UI's Latino Native American Cultural Center
  February 10, 2021. Main Library Gallery blog article about the opening of the exhibition.
• ‘It Is Home’: Q&A with Exhibit Curators Rachel Garza Carreón and Christopher Ortega
  February 24, 2021. Main Library Gallery blog article including an interview with the curators.
• Exhibit celebrates UI's Latino Native American Cultural Center
  March 2, 2021. The Gazette, Cedar Rapids. Community news feature about the exhibition.
• El Teatro Zapatista in the University Archives
  March 3, 2021. Main Library Gallery blog article with photos from the archives which gives a brief overview of El Teatro Zapatista's activities on and off campus.
• The Mural: Controversial Change
  April 6, 2021. Main Library Gallery blog article focusing on the history of a large wall mural in the Latino Native American Cultural Center house.
• Building Our Own Community Exhibit Virtual Tour Launched
  April 16, 2021. Main Library Gallery blog article announcing the launch of the virtual tour component of the exhibit.
• ‘You have a place’: Latinx and Native American students celebrate 50 years of the Latino Native American Cultural Center
  April 21, 2021. The Daily Iowan article celebrating the history of the LNACC, including mention of the exhibit.

 

A FEW RESOURCES

 

• LNACC Library Guide
  Created by exhibit co-curator Rachel Garza Carreón, this guide is a helpful resource for research at the UI Libraries. Included are links to Latinx/a/o and Native American groups and organizations on campus, a guide to the LNACC records in the University Archives, and a history of the LNACC.
• Latino Native American Cultural Center Digital Collection, Iowa Digital Library
  Browse newsletters, documents, photos, and records from the University Archives through the Iowa Digital Library.
• Latino Native American Cultural Center Website
  Learn about the mission, vision, history, and amenities available at the LNACC. Find information about contacting the LNACC coordinator and student staff.
• University of Iowa Native American Council Website
  Read the University of Iowa Acknowledgement of Land and Sovereignty, learn about the Council, and find out about upcoming events.
• University of Iowa Latinx Council Website
  Find student resources, learn about the Council, and see news and upcoming events.
• The Daily Iowan Newspaper Archive
  Dating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan archive provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable.