Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guides

ENGL:2463 The Civil Rights Movement and Freedom Struggles of the 1960's - Elizabeth Rodriguez Fielder: Archives

Resources to support the coursework in ENGL:2463 Topics in African American Literature: The Civil Rights Movement and Freedom Struggles of the 1960's with Dr. Elizabeth Rodriguez Fielder, Spring 2021

Archives

Civil Rights Archives

 Civil Rights Movement Archive logo

https://www.crmvet.org Civil Rights Movement Archive, formerly the Civil Rights Movement Veteran website, is the creation of veterans of the Southern Freedom Movement (1951-1968). "This website is about the Civil Rights Movement of 1951-1968 which we also call the "Freedom Movement" — a period of protests and political struggles thoughout America to win freedom from race-based discrimination, oppression, and exploitation, to end racial segregation, and to win voting rights for all regardless of race. Almost everything on this site was written by a veteran of that Freedom Movement. This is where we who were there tell it like it was in our own words."

SNCC Digital Gateway logo https://snccdigital.org/ SNCC (Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee) Digital Gateway: Learn From the Past;  Organize for the Future; Make Democracy Work. "This documentary website tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation. The SNCC Digital Gateway portrays how SNCC, alongside thousands of local Black residents, worked for Black people to take control of their political and economic lives."  

Civil Rights Digital Library  - "Visit the CRDL"

http://crdl.usg.edu/ Civil Rights Digital Library "The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale."
Wisconsin Historical Society logo https://content.wisconsinhistory.org/digital/collection/p15932coll2 Freedom Summer Digital Collection - Wisconsin Historical Society "The Wisconsin Historical Society has one of the richest collections of Civil Rights movement records in the nation, which includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964."
Photograph of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. by Robert Sengstacke http://okra.stanford.edu/ Online King Records Access (OKRA), The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute (Stanford University) "This searchable database gives you access to thousands of King documents through the year 1968. It is a joint project of the Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center at Boston University, the Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute at Stanford University, and the Robert W. Woodruff Library at Atlanta University Center. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation."

Library of Congress logo

https://www.loc.gov/collections/civil-rights-history-project/about-this-collection/ Library of Congress Civil Rights History Collection "The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others. The video recordings of their recollections cover a wide range of topics within the freedom struggle, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists."