Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Indexes
Justice Information Center
Maintained by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Topical sections such as Criminal Justice Statistics, Juvenile Justice, Research, and Victims provide links to additional Internet resources.
HeinOnline is the world's largest image-based legal research collection and contains more than nine centuries of legal history. All content is image-based in PDF format just as they appear in the original print copy thus preserving the authenticity of the hard copy in a digital environment.
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni)
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Selected Online Reference Books - Crime, Criminology, & Policing
Doing Criminological Research
Doing Criminological Research by
Publication Date: 2018-12-28
The new edition of this bestselling textbook comes completely revised and updated to take students on a guided tour of criminological research. As a trusted companion, this book brings together a range of experts in the field to provide key perspectives on how to prepare, do and present research. Each chapter comes with a range of learning features and contextualised case studies, giving an in-depth review on conducting research projects. The book: Includes fascinating case studies on transnational crime and policing, victims, male offenders, institutional abuse and more Comes with study questions, activities, key terms and a glossary Includes visual material which highlights and illustrates key points Contains new chapters on mixed methods; web based criminological research; experimental criminological research and quantitative criminological research This is the go-to for any student studying criminology, essential to those conducting their own research in the field.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) provides datasets that can help guide the exploration and extension of research ideas for topics connecting technology and criminology.
Crime in the United States
Crime in the United States
An annual publication for more than eight decades, the Crime in the United States report contains a compilation of the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state using Summary Reporting System data and summarized data from the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). Data at the level of local law enforcement agencies are also provided for those contributors supplying 12 months of complete offense data. This report includes arrests, clearances, trends, and law enforcement employee data.