Afro House in the University of Iowa Special Collections & Archives
The is a curated list of some of the archival collections available in our UI LIbraries Special Collections & Archives related to the history of the Afro House and its associated organizations and groups. You can view these archival materials by requesting and scheduling an appointment to view specific items and collections. Use the 'Aeon Request' option available in each collection record to schedule an appointment.
- University of Iowa Archives Afro American Cultural Center RecordsThe Afro-American Cultural Center Records include early pamphlets, brochures, and newspaper clippings related to the center in the 1970s. These records predominately contain materials documenting the events and programming of student organizations affiliated with the center on campus from the 1970s through 2004, when the Iowa Black Alumni Association held a 35th Anniversary reunion.
Daily Iowan Archives Online
Digitized access to historical and contemporary campus newspaper publications provides a partial glimpse of house history and Black life on campus as told through campus newspaper reporting. Because terminology and names have changed, you might try the following search combinations as you explore the Daily Iowan digital archives. Search using the Daily Iowan Digital Archive or using Google Advanced Search.
Search terms to try
- Afro House
- Afro-American Cultural Center
- The Daily Iowan Digital ArchiveDating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006.