Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection DG77 .A35 1994
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection DE59 .E45 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-29
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection FOLIO DE59 .C55 1988
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection FOLIO DG270 .B86 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-01
The Holy Roman Empire by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection DD84 .Z66
Publication Date: 1980-11-20
Product information not available.
Map of Tribes & Roman Empire on Eve of Barbarian Migrations
Map of Tribes & Roman Empire on Eve of Barbarian Migrations. https://library-artstor org.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822000290005.
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
To download images users MUST register for a personal account.
MOBILE USERS: For Apple: mobile.artstor.org. For Android: Download app from Google Play.
Finding Articles - Selected Databases
Academic Search Elite
NOT COMPATIBLE WITH EDGE. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
HeinOnline is the world's largest image-based legal research collection and contains more than nine centuries of legal history. All content is image-based in PDF format just as they appear in the original print copy thus preserving the authenticity of the hard copy in a digital environment.
Historical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
APh Online contains over 600,000 bibliographic records dating back to 1949.
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Eurodocs: Online Sources for European History
Eurodocs: History of Prehistoric and Ancient Europe
European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online I
Brill’s Companions in Classical Studies Online I presents the best in current scholarship in a variety of subjectsm ranging from Homer to Ovid and from Aegean Greece in the Fourth Century BC to Flavian Rome.
Brill's Companions in Classical Studies Online II
The topics of the volumes in this collection range from the History of Ancient Scholarship to Sophocles, Seneca and more.
Brill's New Pauly, (incl. Supplements I volumes 1 - 6)
Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.
Brill Online Books
Brill E-Books Online provides access to thousands of publications from 2007 to 2013 in subjects encompassing Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, and Social Sciences.