Guides

A-Z E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink button in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only – Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa Mobile Resource – Mobile-enabled resource

Database Trials (Resources Under Evaluation)

Hide descriptions
Show descriptions
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Academic Search Ultimate includes more than 77,000 videos from the Associated Press, which appear in a carousel in the result list. Updated monthly, this collection of videos from the world’s leading news agency includes footage from 1930 to the present and helps round out student research.
New
Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.
New
Business Source Ultimate has a winning formula: Business students learn about accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management and much more with one comprehensive package that also includes full text of journals found in key subject indexes. In addition to accessing essential full-text journals, business students can delve into case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts – the key players whose roles they are studying to fill.
New
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
New
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Access to EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage, EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1) and EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
  • Restricted Resource
New
In partnership with Global Eagle, this collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
New
FIMo includes map research tools and search tips to make finding maps for a specific location easier than ever before. Maps in our collection include publications by Sanborn, Perris, Hexamer, Whipple, Baist, Bromley, Hopkins and others. FIMo is an invaluable resource for research on urban development patterns, past property uses and occupants, family homes, genealogy, and more!
Trial
Effective immediately and until normal access to physical collections resumes, students, faculty, and staff at the University of Iowa have online access to a large portion of the University Libraries’ print collection—volumes that would have been difficult to access from library facilities that are closed due to COVID-19. To access, visit HathiTrust and click the yellow “LOG IN” button. Select “University of Iowa” and log with your HawkID
New
The first series of The Hollow Crown brings together four filmed adaptations of Shakespeare's History Plays - Richard II, Henry IV Part 1, Henry IV Part 2, and Henry V. Starring Ben Whishaw, Jeremy Irons and Tom Hiddleston, this continuous story of monarchy follows events during sixteen years of dynastic and political power play. In Series 2, Henry VI in two parts and Richard III, tell the story of ‘The Wars of the Roses’, an exceptionally turbulent period in British history.
New
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
New
Please email Brett Cloyd @ brett-cloyd@uiowa.edu for the username and password to access this resource.
Trial
The Internet Archive has made available until June 30, 2020 over a million books normally under copyright. To these books, go to NEL and search for the book title or subject.
New
Latin American studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Area studies in general have proliferated in the latter half of the twentieth century and Latin American studies in particular has been propelled forward as a distinct field of study by major international changes, such as the end of the Cold War
New
FIRST TIME USERS: please create an account using your University of Iowa email address (@uiowa.edu) and a password of your account.
Trial
RedShelf has made many of their digital textbooks available at no cost for the rest of the semester, through May 25, for University of Iowa students. Users must create an account before searching for the book title.
New
Comprehensive and quality organic synthesis reviews curated, peer-reviewed and updated by renowned chemists. Includes synthetically relevant methods and experimental procedures. The Science of Synthesis Database is structure, reaction, text, and field searchable and provides access to the full Science of Synthesis series, including the Houben-Weyl Archive, published from 1909 to-date.
New
Teaching Channel provides access to over 1,400 videos that demonstrate effective K-12 teaching practices.
New
Single search for indexes and records for nearly 250 years of U.S. Federal government information. Includes The Annals of Congress, Register of Debates and Congressional Globe. Includes links to the full text at the Library of Congress’ American Memory.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...