Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guides

ENGL:2359 Remarkable Women: Victorian Narratives of Quest and Transformation - Stapleton: Annotated Bibliography

This guide is for the Spring 2021 course with Dr. Anne Stapleton, ENGL:2359:0001 Remarkable Women: Victorian Narratives of Quest and Transformation

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is an organized list of citations for sources (books, articles, etc.) consulted on a particular topic in which each source citation is followed by a brief evaluative description of the source. 

How do I create an annotated bibliography?

Creating your annotated bibliography is actually quite simple. 

1. Identify and review sources that will be useful for your project and record their information in MLA citation format.

2. Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that:

(a) evaluate the authority or background of the author,

(b) comment on the intended audience,

(c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, and

(d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

 

Additional Resources on Annotated Bibliographies

Browse these resources to learn more about creating an annotated bibliography:

Cornell University - How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

University of Illinois - Annotated Bibliographies

Purdue OWL - Annotated Bibliographies