Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the UI Libraries!
Our names are Laurie Neuerburg and Jenay Solomon. We are both librarians at the UI Libraries. Laurie is the Science Reference and Outreach Librarian at the Sciences Library and Jenay is an Undergraduate Engagement Librarian at the Main Library. We're happy to answer any and all questions you have about research and the Libraries. Our emails and contact information are on this guide.
- Welcome and brief orientation to the Libraries
- Discuss the process of scientific research
- Comparing academic articles to popular non-academic science articles
- How to read a scientific article
- Learn how to fact-check articles and media sources for credibility
- Group research time using UI Library resources and tools
- Answer any questions and how to find help
What can InfoHawk+ help me find?
InfoHawk+ searches our physical materials (books, DVDs, etc.). It's the tool you need to use to find a book on the shelf, or an e-book online. Books are only part of what it can find.
It will also search a wide range of electronic resources, including Iowa Research Online, selected major databases in a diverse set of academic disciplines, and items unique to the UI Libraries like those in our Iowa Digital Collections.
Your friendly University of Iowa Librarians created these tutorials to help you learn how to use InfoHawk+ like a pro. If you have any questions, please ask a librarian.
Academic Search Elite
This database is good for finding scholarly articles on every subject or discipline. Most majors and students from all over generally use this database.
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet
). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account.
Web of Science
[Help Searching Web of Science
]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports
and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.
Encompasses all current and future JoVE video resources. JoVE publishes more than 1,200 videos annually across the 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal and launches new subject series and collections to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year. Access to both the fundamental building blocks of common laboratory techniques and the newest, cutting-edge experiments
Other relevant resources
The AllSides Media Bias Chart™ helps you to easily identify different perspectives so you can get the full picture and think for yourself. Knowing the political bias of media outlets allows you to consume a balanced news diet and avoid manipulation and fake news. Everyone is biased, but hidden bias misleads and divides us. The AllSides Media Bias Chart™ is based on our full and growing list of over 800 media bias ratings. These ratings inform our balanced newsfeed.
Scientific American covers the most important and exciting research, ideas and knowledge in science, health, technology, the environment and society. It is committed to sharing trustworthy knowledge, enhancing our understanding of the world, and advancing social justice.
News articles for the public highlighting the latest research and scientific studies published in Nature, the academic journal.
Help & Assistance
HELP AND ASSISTANCE
LIVE CHAT with a Librarian.
ONE-ON-ONE research consultations with a librarian!
Go to lib.uiowa.edu/research/consultations/
NEED HELP AFTER business hours? The SEAM can help!
The SEAM is a specialized resource designed for undergraduates to get research help and assistance. We're open Sunday - Thursday, 5PM-9PM.
Go to lib.uiowa.edu/seam/ to schedule an appointment online.
1. Trace a Popular Article Back to the Original Research. First, scan the popular news article with your group. Consider the following:
- Are there links or references to a study that was done?
- What are some main concepts or terms that stand out?
- Create a list of these concepts or terms that you can use to conduct research on similar studies through the UI Library resources.
2. Discuss with your group and share out.
- Does the news article do a good job of reporting on the study? Why or why not?
- Does the news headline reflect the original research study?
Help Your Dog Adapt to a Post-Pandemic World
Fact or Fiction? Elephants Never Forget
Will it be safe for humans to fly to Mars?
Is something burping methane on Saturn’s ocean moon?
Listening to Nature Gives You a Real Rocky Mountain High