Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Timothy Shipe: Curator, International Dada Archive; Liaison for Arts and Literature

Timothy Shipe

Tim Shipe's picture
Tim Shipe
Contact:
Special Collections

100 Main Library
319-335-5824
Website

International Dada Archive

Education

M.L.S., University of Iowa, 1984

Ph. D., Comparative Literature, University of Iowa, 1981

B.A., Literature, Antioch College, 1972

Selected Publications

Dada/Surrealism (general editor, 2013 to present)

“A Century of Documenting Dada: From Coupures de presse to ‘Dadabase.’” Caietele avangardei, no. 8, 2016.

“Tristan Tzara: A Bibliography of Publications in English and German.” Les Cahiers Tristan Tzara, vol. 15-17, no. 61-86, 2010, pp. 1149-53.

“A Decade of Dada Scholarship: Publications on Dada, 1994-2005.” Dada Culture: Critical Texts on the Avant-garde. Ed. Dafydd Jones. Amsterdam: Rodopi, 2006. Pp. 285-321.

“Le Mouvement Dada: Bibliographie, 1983-2004.” In Dada: Circuit total. Ed. Henri Béhar and Catherine Dufour. Lausanne: L’Age d’homme, 2005. Pp. 743-770.

“The Dada Movement: Violating Boundaries.” In Migrations in Society, Culture, and the Library. Ed. Tom Kilton and Ceres Birkhead. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 2005. Pp. 183-191.

“Travels into Several Remote Corners of the Information Universe: A Voyage to the Department of the Houyhnhnmists, or, Licensing Issues and the Integrated Collection.”  The Acquisitions Librarian, no. 33/34, 2005, pp. 25-34. Also in Managing Digital Resources in Libraries. Ed. Audrey Fenner. Binghamton: Haworth Information Press, 2005. Pp. 25-34.

“Marcel Duchamp Bibliography, 2000-2003.” Etant donné, no. 5, 2003, pp. 168-173. With the assistance of Kathryn M. Floyd.

“Issues in Cataloging Electronic Texts.”  In Literature in English: A Guide for Librarians in the Digital Age. Ed. Betty H. Day and William A. Wortman.  Chicago: American Library Association, 2000.  Pp. 280-88.

"Bibliography: Women in Dada." In Women in Dada: Essays on Sex, Gender, and Identity.  Ed. Naomi Sawelson-Gorse.  Cambridge: MIT Press, 1998.  Pp. 614-667.  (With Rudolf E. Kuenzli)

"Bibliography, 1969-95" and "Exhibition History."  In The Complete Works of Marcel Duchamp.  Ed. Arturo Schwarz.  3rd ed.  New York:  Delano Greenidge, 1997. Rpt. in rev. and exp. pbk. ed., 2000.

"Hugo Ball: Bibliography." In Hugo Ball, Flight Out of Time.  Ed. John Elderfield.  Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.  (With Rudolf E. Kuenzli)

"Bibliographie Dada global."  In Dada global.  Zurich: Limmat-Verlag, 1994.  Pp. 443-62.  (With Rudolf E. Kuenzli)

"The Librarian and the Artist's Book:  Notes on the Subversive Art of Cataloging."  Visible Language, vol. 25, no. 2/3, spring 1991, pp. 327-33.

 

 

Memberships

American Library Association/Association of College and Research Libraries

European Studies Section

Rare Books and Manuscripts Section

Literatures in English Section

Modern Language Association

Association for the Study of Dada and Surrealism

Guide List