This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Speeches and Transcripts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Speeches and Transcripts  

A guide to locating the texts of speeches and transcripts of news broadcasts.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/speeches_transcripts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Speeches and Transcripts

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only - Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
An index to a growing database of full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
From the American Memory Project, Library of Congress: digitized transcripts of interviews with over 2,300 former slaves, as well as 500+ photographs. Search narratives and photos by keyword or browse by narrator's name or volume (they first appeared as a 17-volume set in 1941), or search and browse images.

CQ Electronic Library Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Congressional Quarterly Electronic Library (CQPress.com) is an extensive reference resource comprised of sixteen separate modules, each with its own focus, for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Almanac, CQ Global Reseacher, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, CQ Congress, CQ Public Affairs, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Encyclopedia of American Government, CQ Congress and the Nation, CQ Historic Document Series, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ's Politics in America, CQ Supreme Court Yearbook, CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics, and CQ Washington Information Directory.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information and public figures biographies. The news section provides news wires, television and radio transcripts along with access to full text of newspapers in English and some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia.

Martin Luther King Jr. and Black History Month

Selected reference sources from Louisiana State University Libraries that focus on the writings and speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr.

NPR News Now
National Public Radio provides a searchable archive of programs (transcripts available for purchase) and accessible recordings. 

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource - UI Access Only 
The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. It includes the following U.S. Congressional materials: members and committees, bills, laws, hearing transcripts, committee prints, documents, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Code, and Congressional Research Service reports.

ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection (1789-1997) Restricted Resource - UI Access Only  
LexisNexis Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection includes the Congressional Record and its three predecessors: the Congressional Record (1873-to date), the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873) cover all the concerns of that day, provide researchers with a unique perspective on North American history, and are considered key primary sources for research in U.S. government, history, public policy, business and economics, politics, international relations, and law.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Steve Ostrem
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Research & Library Instruction, Main Library; Telephone: (319) 335-5521
If I'm not online, get help at the LIBRARIES link above or:
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip