This is the "Selected Resources" page of the "Social Media, Culture, and Politics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Media, Culture, and Politics   Tags: social_change, social_media  

036:173:001 Prof. Jiyeon Kang Spring 2014
Last Updated: May 8, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/socialmedia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Selected Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Materials

  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000  Icon
    A set of learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question.
  • SAGE eReference  Icon
    A collection of encyclopedias, primarily in the social sciences. See the subject entry for sociology.
 

Selected Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice - Gary L. Anderson (Editor); Kathryn G. Herr (Editor)
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO HM671 .E53 2007
ISBN: 9781412918121
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Available online and in print


Cover Art
Rebels and Renegades - Neil Hamilton
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO HN90.R3 H354 2002
ISBN: 041593639X
Publication Date: 2002-10-11

Cover Art
The Next American Revolution - Grace Lee Boggs; Scott Kurashige; Dann Glover (Foreword by)
Call Number: Main Library HN65 .B634 2011
ISBN: 9780520269248
Publication Date: 2011-04-05

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
ISBN: 0761926887
Available online only in Sage eReference.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Political Communication - Lynda Lee Kaid (Editor); Christina Holtz-Bacha (Editor)
Call Number: Main Reference JA85 .E65 2008
ISBN: 9781412917995
Publication Date: 2007-12-21

Cover Art
Music, Social Media and Global Mobility - Ole J. Mjos
Call Number: Rita Benton Music Library ML3916 .M56 2012
ISBN: 9780415882743
Publication Date: 2011-12-22

Cover Art
Social Media - Hana S. Noor Al-Deen (Editor); John Allen Hendricks (Editor)
Call Number: Engineering Library HM742 .S6286 2012
ISBN: 9780739167298
Publication Date: 2011-11-10

News Databases

See also: the News and Newspapers libguide.

  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon  Icon
    Access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available
  • Access World News  Icon
    Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch  Icon
    Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • GenderWatch  Icon
    Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]

Scholarly Articles

Search within these databases to identify scholarly articles. Use InfoLink to be guided to full-text options.

  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  Icon  Icon
    Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
  • Academic Search Elite  Icon  Icon
    Limit to peer-review for scholarly articles. Indexes and includes some full-text for the following titles: Comparative Political Studies, Russian Social Science Review, Russian Education and Society, Russian Review, and many other relevant titles.
  • PAIS International  Icon
    PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  Icon
    This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Selected titles: Comparative Political Science, Comparative Politics, Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, Journal of Democracy, World Policy Journal, World Politics. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  Icon
    SSCI is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, 1898 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the ISI Web of Knowledge database.

Identifying & Locating Books

  • Smart Search
    Search for print and online books and journals, library webpages, digital collections, and more simultaneously.
  • InfoHawk Catalog
    Use the UI Libraries' InfoHawk Catalog to locate books, journal titles, videos and more on your topic. Use Advanced Search to limit by language, format, and more.
  • WorldCat  Icon  Icon
    A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ericka Raber
Contact Info
Research & Instruction Librarian
Main Library
The University of Iowa Libraries
319-335-5945
Send Email
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.

Full-text Articles

When you have the citation for an article, and you'd like to locate the full-text, try the following options.

  • From within a database, select InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
  • Use e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title in your citation.  InfoLink will guide you to full-text options.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to borrow books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries.
  • Article Delivery
    Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law and the Curriculum Lab) can be scanned and delivered to your desktop.
  • Look for the title of the journal or magazine in the InfoHawk Catalog (or use Smart Search)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip