A guide for students in Prof. Bill Reisinger's
Intro to Politics of Russia & Eurasia (POLI 030:041:001 )
- Smart Search
Search for print and online books and journals, library webpages, digital collections, and more simultaneously.
- InfoHawk Catalog
Use the UI Libraries' InfoHawk Catalog to locate books, journal titles, videos and more on your topic. Use Advanced Search to limit by language, format, and more.
A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science
OHO Political Science brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in political science. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
- CIA World Factbook
- Nations in Transit
Google Books will usually offer a preview of books. To locate the full text of a book, see Smart Search.
Search within these databases to identify scholarly articles. Use InfoLink to be guided to full-text options.
- PAIS International
PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Selected titles: Comparative Political Science, Comparative Politics, Foreign Affairs, Foreign Policy, Journal of Democracy, World Policy Journal, World Politics. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Academic Search Elite
Limit to peer-review for scholarly articles. Indexes and includes some full-text for the following titles: Comparative Political Studies, Russian Social Science Review, Russian Education and Society, Russian Review, and many other relevant titles.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
SSCI is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, 1898 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the ISI Web of Knowledge database.
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
When you have the citation for an article, and you'd like to locate the full-text, try the following options.
- From within a database, select InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
- Use e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title in your citation. InfoLink will guide you to full-text options.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service that allows you to borrow books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries.
- Article Delivery
Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law and the Curriculum Lab) can be scanned and delivered to your desktop.
- Look for the title of the journal or magazine in the InfoHawk Catalog (or use Smart Search)