Admin Sign In 

Research Methods 

021:278:001 Patricia Katopol, Instructor, Spring 2009
Last update: Jan 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/researchmethods  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Assignment

Find 3 articles from LIS, computer science, management information systems, business, education, policy, or engineering journal articles about the same topic. 

Suggested topics: information behavior of scientists or computer scientists; information behavior of graduate students, internet taxation, filtering in libraries, technology acceptance model, usability studies, online degree programs, or citation studies.

 

Additional Tips

Resources by Subject (to locate UI Libraries' databases by subject)

Google Scholar
Be sure to set your scholarly preferences to the UI Libraries for off-campus use.  Try several search strategies to view your topic from various perspectives.  Google Scholar will match its results with what we have available through UI Libraries' subscriptions.  Google Scholar does not search all of the UI Libraries' databases. Not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly.

 
 

Selected Resources

See Resources by Subject for a more expanded list of databases for each discpline. 

Multidisciplinary Databases:
Academic Search Elite (EBSCOhost)

Blackwell Synergy
(Business, IT, Computing, Engineering...)

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

ISI Web of Knowledge
A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).

Business:
ABI/INFORM

Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)

Factiva

Computer Science and Management Information Science:
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)

Engineering Village

Elsevier Science Direct

Education:
ERIC (EBSCOhost version)

Library and Information Science:
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (Wilson)

Policy:
In addition to resources focusing on your subject area, try to following for discussions of social policy issues:

LexisNexis Congressional

LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageEricka Raber
Contact Info:
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Main Library
The University of Iowa Libraries
319-335-5945
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait