BooksWeb Resources
This is the "Journal Articles" page of the "Psychology & Education Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology & Education Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/psyc_educ Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases, Psychology-specific

  • CogNet Library  
      
      Icon
    A major electronic resource for cognitive and brain sciences which provides searchable full-text of major reference works, books, and journals from MIT Press and other publishers and resource providers. Also includes conference materials, CogSci Dictionary, Almanac of cognitive science programs, and much more.
  • PILOTS Database  
      
      Icon
  • PsycARTICLES  Icon  Icon
  • PsycBOOKS  
      
      Icon
    (includes APA Books)
  • PsycINFO  
      
      Icon
    The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1500 journals in more than 35 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.
  • PsycTESTS  
      
      Icon
  • PsycTHERAPY  
      
      Icon
  • Social and personality psychology compass  
      
      Icon

Databases, Education-specific

  • Education Source  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost version)  
      
      Icon  Icon
    ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciencesand the Main Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or ProQuest. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
  • ERIC (ProQuest version)  
      
      Icon
    ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences and the Main Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or ProQuest. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • ERIC Collection  
      
      Icon
    Bibliographic records of education literature, plus a growing collection of full text. [Please note that ERIC documents 1966-July, 2004 are available in microfiche in the Media Collection, South Circulation desk, Main Library. New ERIC documents (July, 2004 to the present) are available in electronic format only. There is an effort to digitize documents acquired by the ERIC system1966-1992. If there is no link to the full-text in a database for ERIC documents 1966-1992, check with the Media Collection, South Circulation desk, Main Library for the microfiche copy.]
  • PscyINFO  Icon
    The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1500 journals in more than 35 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.
  • National Council on Teacher Quality
  • Teacher Reference Center  
      
      Icon  Icon
    Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Databases, General

  • EBSCOhost  Icon  Icon
    A collection of databases, including Academic Search Elite, which offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles, covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
  • JoVE: The Journal of Visualized Experiments  
      
  • JoVE Science Education  Icon
    Excludes access to Model Organisms I
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses  
      
      Icon
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. [Help sheet for searching PubMed - PDF]
  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% of MEDLINE and most of EMBASE, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. [Scopus Apps are not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
  • Social Work Reference Center  
      
      Icon
    This resource includes care sheets, patient information, and images usable in all clinical settings - including hospitals, elder-care centers, and mental healthcare facilities. All evidence is rigorously evaluated and topics are updated as evidence changes.
  • Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)  
      
      Icon
  • Social Explorer  Icon
    Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. The site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
 

bX Hot Articles

bX Hot Articles by Ex Libris displays the most requested articles, both from particular subject areas and across all subjects. The service is based on the usage data of millions of researchers, captured by the bX article recommender service, from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Hot Articles data is refreshed regularly.

Use the pull-down to check for Hot Articles in Education and other disciplines.

Please give us your feedback on Hot Articles

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Steve Ostrem
Logo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Research & Library Instruction, Main Library; Telephone: (319) 335-5521
If I'm not online, get help at the LIBRARIES link above or:
Send Email
Office Hours:
Thursdays 10-noon in E201 Seashore Hall or by appointment

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ericka Raber
Contact Info
Interim Education Librarian
N426 LC
The University of Iowa Libraries
319-335-5945
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip