- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6,500 serials are monitored for inclusion.
Reaxys is a workflow solution for accessing the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
Everyone MUST register to use this resource and instructions are located at guides.lib.uiowa.edu/chem
. SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS.
- USP-NF Online
The USP-NF (United States Pharmacopeia–National Formulary) is a combination of two official compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.
Click on Log On to begin.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
- Web of Knowledge // Web of Science
A citation reference that includes the Web of Science
(Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports
, among other science and social science reference indexes.
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% MEDLINE and EMBASE coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. [Scopus Apps are not compatible with Internet Explorer 9
Full text collection of over 1,000,000 articles from 1995 to present covers a variety of subject areas and disciplines, including biochemistry, biological sciences, business, chemistry, earth sciences, economics, engineering, mathematics and computer science, neurosciences, physics and social sciences.
- Google Scholar
Click on the "UIowa InfoLink:Full Text" or click on "More" in your results list for InfoLink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [additional information about Google Scholar
- NLM Drug Information Portal
This is a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. It allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once including PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ChemIDplus, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus. Its mobile site can be accessed at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/m.drugportal/
PubChem is a free NCBI resource providing information on the biological activities of small molecules and a a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
A free resources from NIH providing information on 390,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures. Search by registry number, name, molecular formula, structure, physical and toxicological properties.
- NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information
Providing a number of free databases of biomedical and genomic information.
Allows you to search for information on FDA approved drug and selected therapeutic biological products.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9
Full access to over 8,500 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, 15,000 illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography®, the latest news in science and technology from Science News® and ScienCentral® videos, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.