Public and Private Companies
Keep in mind that you'll find limited information on a private company. Privately owned companies do not have to disclose info to the SEC. As a result, it can be difficult to find information on a private company.
The best sites to search for Private companies have been noted in the list.
Search Mergent for Public Companies
Search for Private Companies & Investors
Search PrivCo for Private Company information.
Venture Capital, Private Equity and M&A Database
Directories
The following sites offer contact information, ticker symbols, brief executive info, product and industry classification.
- Data Axle (PREVIOUSLY ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new windowDirectory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- Orbis This link opens in a new windowOrbis contains information about European, US, Canadian, South and Central American, Japanese, Chinese, and African companies, as well as banks and insurance companies. Financials, peer comparison, corporate ownership and deals are included.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Source for global business and financial information. Provides news reports for "Moody's Manuals." Offers 15 or more years of financial data on US public companies. Also includes recent SEC filings, annual reports, and equity pricing. The equity pricing dates back 30 years. - LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790 - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune are not accessible from Factiva. Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
NB: 10 simultaneous user limit. - PrivCo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
USERS MUST create a login to use resource. Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
- ThomasNetIncludes over 173,000 U.S. and Canadian manufacturers and 152,000 brand names. Entries include a basic company profile as well as links to company websites and product catalogs if available. (Free web site)
Need Help? Contact Willow
Willow Fuchs
she / her / hers
Contact:
Pomerantz Business Library
319-335-3077
Website
319-335-3077
Subjects: Business and Economics