Welcome!
This subject guide has been created to help you find biology information. You can use the links on these pages to access materials the library has purchased or subscribed to whether you are on or off-campus. Also listed are links to valuable information available for free on the Web. If you have any questions or need assistance, please ask a librarian. Thanks for visiting!
Sciences Library
120 Iowa Ave. (104A SL)
(hours | map | floorplan)
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sciences or
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/m/sciences
Facebook Page and Twitter Feed
Phone: (319) 335-3083
E-mail: lib-sciences@uiowa.edu
Browzine
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowAvailable for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- BrowZine Web This link opens in a new windowBrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Sciences Library News
Is a journal peer reviewed?
You can search Ulrich's Web with a journal title to verify if the title is peer reviewed. Peer reviewed is also sometimes called refereed.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database providing detailed and authoritative information on journals and other serials published throughout the world. Ulrich's covers all subjects, and includes regularly and irregularly published serials that are available free or by paid subscription.
Recommended Biology Resources
- InfoHawk+Use InfoHawk+ to search for items available from the University Libraries. Sign in to request and save.
- eLS (Encyclopedia of life sciences) This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable, working editorial site of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account.. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- BioCyc Database Collection This link opens in a new windowBioCyc is a collection of 13075 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them [Karp17]. Key aspects of BioCyc data:
Quality data curated from tens of thousands of publications, including curated databases for E. coli, B. subtilis, H. sapiens, and S. cerevisiae.
Computationally predicted metabolic pathways and operons.
Data integrated from other databases including gene essentiality, regulatory networks, protein features, and GO annotations. - H1 Connect (formerly Faculty Opinions) This link opens in a new window
H1 Connect is an article recommendation service, providing up-to-date notifications and information about science you shouldn’t miss.
Our global virtual Faculty of nearly 8000 leading experts from across the life sciences, health and physical sciences recommend articles they consider to be highly important to others working both in their field and beyond.
Coverage includes research from basic and fundamental, to clinical application and social and behavioral sciences. In addition, a substantial body of recommended content provides insight into science and research policy and practice. - Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this. - Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowThe world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.
- JoVE Unlimited This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all current and future JoVE video resources. JoVE publishes more than 1,200 videos annually across the 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal and launches new subject series and collections to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year. Access to both the fundamental building blocks of common laboratory techniques and the newest, cutting-edge experiments
- SciFinder-nYou can perform BLAST Biosequence searches in SciFinder-N. To register for a SciFinder-N account, you must be on campus and use your University of Iowa email address (@uiowa.edu).
Proxy Link Generator
For assistance accessing library resources from off-campus, please contact the Sciences Library at lib-sciences@uiowa.edu or (319) 335-3083.
Making links work from off campus: UI Libraries’ proxy server address
To make sure University of Iowa users can access the article away from campus, copy our proxy server address (login.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=) into the URL so that the whole thing looks like https://login.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ydbio.2019.07.014. This will trigger the website to ask for HawkIDs and passwords to allow access to protected content.
Sciences Head Engagement Librarian
Director, Sciences Library
104SL
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319)335-3083