Public Health OrganizationsNational OrganizationsState OrganizationsRural Health OrganizationsEnvironmental Organizations
Public Health WebsitesFederal Government WebsitesIowa WebsitesEnvironmental WebsitesSubstance Abuse Websites
This is the "Home" page of the "Public Health & Nursing Administrators" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Health & Nursing Administrators  

This subject guide lists FREE resources of interest to public health & nursing administrators
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/phna Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

DID YOU KNOW:

All of the databases in this guide can be accessed for FREE.

That CINAHL and several other clinical resources are available to you FREE from the State Library of Iowa.  All you need is a library card.

If you would like to schedule a presentation on any of these resources for either yourself or your hospital, you can contact me by clicking on the Send Email link under Contact Info.  This is a FREE service.

 

Pub Med VS Pub Central: Which Is Better For You?

PubMed is a database of citations and abstracts for over 21 MILLION ARTICLES from over 5,000 journals. One of its features is a FREE FULL TEXT FILTER that allows you to locate articles that are available for free from several thousand journal web sites and also connects you to most of the articles in PubMed Central.

PubMed Central is an electronic archive of 2.2 MILLION FREE FULL TEXT JOURNAL ARTICLES, most of which have a corresponding entry in PubMed.

Resources Available from the State Library

You need a State Library Card to access all of the databases listed below. 

Several of the databases listed on the Complete List of Databases link also require a library card.  Click on the Sign up for a State Library Card link to obtain one. 

Once you have located the articles that you would like to order from the State Library, click on the Request a Library Item link. 

The staff at the library will send you all articles that are available at the State Library.  The only free online journals the library currently has are those availble through PubMed or EBSCOhost.

The staff at the State Library also provide assistance with literature searches.

For assistance with any of the State Library's resources, contact Pam Rees. 

Phone: 515-242-5218
Fax: 515-281-3384
Email: pam.rees@lib.state.ia.us      

Chris Childs

Profile Image
Education & Outreach Librarian
Contact Info
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip