Includes articles on every scientific topic as well as "tools" such as the Periodic Table.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The encyclopedia consists of over 1800 entries on all aspects of social organization. It is updated three times a year.
- Catholic Encyclopedia
Contains facts and information relevant to the Catholic Church. About 35.2% of the complete print Catholic Encyclopedia is published on the web site. Also contains papal and conciliar documents not included in the original Catholic Encyclopedia. Useful for theology, religious studies, philosophy and medieval history.
- Encyclopaedia Islamica
A comprehensive resource on Islam and the Muslim world, particularly Shia Islam.
- Encyclopedia Iranica
The Encyclopædia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.
- Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia of myths, legends and folklore.
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Part of Oxford Art Online.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient History
A comprehensive encyclopedia on the entire ancient Mediterranean world.
- Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
Brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics.
- Encyclopedia of Biostatistics
The definitive reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.
- Encyclopedia of China
The essential reference to China, its history and culture.
- Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration provides a complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day. It includes thematic interpretations and theories of migration, as well as the significant contemporary scientific discoveries and scholarly interpretations that have reshaped the way historians and social scientists analyze and map the past.
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics
A systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. It includes articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is included.
- Encyclopedia of Political Science
Examines the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. Explores a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. Part of CQ Electronic Library.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work
Continually updated by Oxford University Press in association with NASW Press.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work (2008)
This new edition includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān
The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies.
- Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations
Explores more than 200 years of political, military, economic, and cultural connections between the United States of America and its neighbors to the south.
- Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
Part of Berg Fashion Library, it contains articles on dress and fashion around the world throughout history.
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian
An encyclopedia of the Smithsonian Collection and reading lists. Provides research guidance and bibliographies.
- Europa Sacra
The most comprehensive tool for Church prelates in the Middle Ages.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
- Grove Art Online
Part of Oxford Art Online.
- Grove Music: New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
Part of Oxford Music Online.
- Grzimek's Animal Life
Based on Grzimek’s acclaimed 17-volume encyclopedia. Constantly updated with facts, figures, news and views, providing more than 4,000 species, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more. Updated regularly by a worldwide network of experts. Includes immersive tools such as interactive range maps and an intuitive interface. Includes photos, maps, videos, audio tracks and more.
- The Homer Encyclopedia
The first comprehensive reference work encompassing the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present.
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
Continuous and immediate 24/7 access to this major new resource in communication studies for students and academics. Powerful searching and browsing capabilities. Extensive cross-referencing.
- International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
- International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
This landmark Encyclopedia brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world’s best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field.
- International Studies Encyclopedia
Published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), it is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. The print version is arranged across 12 volumes in an A-Z format and brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters Online
- New Pauly Encyclopedia (Brill)
An aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
- Oxford Art Online
Provides access to Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
A collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an essential new reference work covering all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool, and for students and general readers seeking an accessible guide to the period. Over 800 scholars have assembled thousands of comprehensive entries, lavishly supplemented by hundreds of illustrations and dozens of maps.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion are covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd ed.)
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements that have shaped the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
The first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
Covers the full geographical extent of Islam by focusing not only on the countries in which Islam is dominant, but also on regions in which Muslims live as minorities, such as Europe and the Americas.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
- Oxford Music Online
Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Reference
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- SAGE eReference
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aging & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work, Social Policy, and Sociology.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A publication of the Metaphysics Research Lab Center for the Study of Language and Information. Dynamically updated and edited by Edward N. Zalta and supported by the American Philosophical Association, the Philosophy Documentation Center, and the Canadian Philosophical Association.
- Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.