General and ReferenceCardiologyCritical CareGerontologyInformatics and TechnologyManagement and FinanceMental HealthNursing EducationObstetrics and NeonatalOncologyPediatricsPrimary CareProfessional Nursing PracticePublic/Community HealthQuality of Care and EBPSurgical and AnesthesiaTheory, History, and ResearchWound CareOther Specialty Resources
FAQ
This is the "Mobile Device Resources" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Resources   Tags: evidence_based_practice, health_sciences, nursing  

Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
Last Updated: Jul 29, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Mobile Device Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started

If you do not have a mobile device yet, take a look at the buying guide here.

 Vendors for Nursing Products

Skyscape 

Lexi-Comp 

Unbound Medicine 

PEPID

Mobile Device Support

Hardin Library Offers Mobile Device Support  

 

Please contact Sarah or Shane  to set up an appointment for help with installing library resources or troubleshooting: 

sarah-andrews@uiowa.edu

shane-wallace@uiowa.edu

 

UI Subscribed Mobile Resources

The following resources are all freely available to UI affilates, due to institutional subscriptions.

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide

Description: provides evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. This comprehensive web and mobile resource organizes details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, quick-read entries.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry OS5+, Android, Windows Devices

How to access : follow this link: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/JHG and then follow below instructions for installation:

1. Select the link for “Mobile” near the top of screen.
2. You will be prompted to register for a free account.
3. You will receive an email with instructions on how to download the app to your device.


FirstConsult

Description : Provides access to full-text articles from over 80 medical journals and Clinics, 50 leading medical references across a wide range of specialties, clinically relevant drug information, and over 15,000 patient handouts.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android Devices

How to access : Start at ClinicalKey from Hardin web site on campus network: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/clinicalkey

1. Create an account using the link at the top right side of page. It is suggested that you use your UI mail account.
2. Complete the registration form and create a unique username and password. Then, select "continue" to submit your information.
3. Log out of ClinicalKey.
4. Go to the apps store and search for First Consult.
5. Load the First Consult app, and then log on using the account you created in ClinicalKey.

NOTE : Because the account needs to be created on campus, you will not be able to install the app if you do not visit campus. This is known problem that library staff will attempt to resolve.


Natural Standard

Description : Contains internationally published evidence-based information about complementary and alternative interventions.
For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android Devices

How to access : Please contact Aaron Morse at Natural Standard for a code to download this resource. His email is AMorse@NaturalStandard.com and he can be reached directly by phone at: 617-591-3334. When you receive code, follow the following instructions for installation:

  1. Go to the App Store on your Smart Phone, and download the Skyscape Application (this is free).
  2. Open the Skyscape Application, Select Tools, and then Install Resources
  3. You will be prompted to enter the code you received.

DynaMed

Description : A point of care product, also available in a web version from Health Sciences Resources page, containing over 3000 evidence summaries with information on medications, conditions, diagnosis and interventions.
It is frequently updated and easy to navigate.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android Devices

How to access : Contact the reference desk at lib-hardin@uiowa.edu or any librarian for a serial number. After obtained, install the free Skyscape application, and then follow the directions for installation by platform here : http://www.ebscohost.com/dynamed/technical.php

NOTE : Expiration is one year from the date the serial number is initially used to set up DynaMed on the device. You may ask for a new code from the library when your current subscription expires. If you get a new phone or a second device, you will need to get a new number OR have Skyscape move your account. Lastly, it should be noted that DynaMed loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that DynaMed updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information.


Micromedex

Description : A drug information and interaction database.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android, Palm, Pocket PC Pevices

How to access : Visit Micromedex from Hardin Libary site, http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex
Click on “MobileMicromedex” at the top of the page for the instructions/code, depending on your device.

NOTE : After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the quarter. At the end of the quarter, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password. Please remember that free access to the Micromedex Drug Interactions app is for Micromedex customers (The University of Iowa) only-- do not share this password with non-Micromedex customers. Also, Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before use to ensure you have the latest information.


VisualDx

Description : Dfferential diagnosis tool utilizing images. Contains specialist information for more than 900 diseases and offers more than 16,000 related images.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android Devices

How to access :
Using a computer on the University network, log into the web version: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx

  1. Click “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device. Learn how" (center of VisualDx homepage) or "Get VisualDx Mobile" (top right of page).
  2. Create your personal username and password as instructed.
  3. Once you have a username and password, you can download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the iTunes Store or from Google Play.
  4. Launch the VisualDx app from your device, and sign in using the username and password you created.

UpToDate

Description : A point of care medical reference tool, also available in a web version. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts, who synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations.

Available for : iPhone, iPad, Android, and Windows 8 devices

How to access : Start at UptoDate web version: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate

  1. Use your university email address to create account, near top right side of screen (log in/register button).
  2. You should receive a confirmation email.
  3. Look for UptoDate application, and install. You will be prompted to sign in with login information.

NOTE : You will need to log in to UptoDate from your network every 30 days to verify your continued affiliation.

Jennifer DeBerg

Jennifer DeBerg
Contact Info
jennifer-deberg@uiowa.edu
319 335 8554
Send Email
Office Hours:
Daily, hours variable. My office is on 2nd floor of Hardin Library in commons west, room 207 f. You can always stop by to see if I am available, but best to make appointment in advance.

Mobile Versions of Textbooks

BSN and RN-BSN Programs

If you purchase the electronic version, you are not required to purchase the alike reference textbooks from the bookstore. You can choose to purchase print book only if that is preferred.

NANDA Nursing I Diagnosis: Taxonomy and essential guide to nursing diagnoses. Contains text: North American Nursing Diagnosis Association, & NANDA International. NANDA nursing diagnoses: Definitions and classification  (required book).

Nursing Constellation Plus: Contains clinical, drug, and laboratory information, as well as valuable resources and calculators. Contains text: Ackley, B. J., & Ladwig, G. B. (2010). Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual (required book).

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: Contains information to help you make accurate and timely nursing diagnoses and develop care plans. Contains text: Sommers, M. S. (2010). Nursing diagnosis handbook: An evidence-based guide to planning care (recommended book).

Click here to order these items from Skyscape and receive a considerable discount

      
     

    Get More Help

    Have a general library question?

    Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

    Phone:
    319-335-9151
    Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu

    Are we missing something?

    Know of a great resource that is not on this list?  Let us know!

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip