General and ReferenceCardiologyCritical CareGerontologyInformatics and TechnologyManagement and FinanceMental HealthNursing EducationObstetrics and NeonatalOncologyPediatricsPrimary CareProfessional Nursing PracticePublic/Community HealthQuality of Care and EBPSurgical and AnesthesiaTheory, History, and ResearchWound CareOther Specialty Resources
FAQ
This is the "FAQ" page of the "Nursing Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Resources   Tags: evidence_based_practice, health_sciences, nursing  

Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
Last Updated: Jun 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I access an electronic copy of a journal article?

If the library has a subscription to a journal, you can access it using the InfoLink button. View this 3 minute demonstration about how to use the InfoLink button from CINAHL and PubMed.

 

What do I do if I am having issues with accessing electronic resources?

Sometimes, even when you do everything correctly, you still may encounter a problem accessing electronic resources.  Here are some tips:

UI Libraries subscribes to resources based on how many people we anticipate may be simultanously using material. If you receive an error message that indicates that all user seats are occupied, try again later. If the problem continues, please notify us.

If the InfoLink tool indicates that full text is available but you are not taken directly to it, be aware that sometimes you may be directed to a publisher page that requires you to navigate to the correct volume and issue. If you encounter problems, contact us! We need to know about problems in order to find solutions.

If you do not receive a response from our staff via chat or email, please contact the reference desk phone number: 319-335-9151

Here is a page that details several other known issues and workarounds for problems that may occur.

 

How do I obtain a copy of a journal article if it is not electronically available?

You can use the interlibrary loan system to have our staff either scan/send copy of journal that we have in print or to obtain from another library. Either way, materials will be your university email after registetering for the system. Using this service is free and unlimited for those affiliated (UI or UHIC).

View a short demonstration (4 minutes) about how to use the interlibary loan system.  

 

How do I obtain print books from off-campus?

You may request that print items be delivered to your home. In order to do this, you will need to register as a distance student when using the interlibrary loan system, and select distance eduation as your pickup library. More information can be found on the distance education library web page.

Here is a short demonstration of how to do this. 

After you complete this registration process, you can then request print books using this system, and items will automatically be delivered to your home. You will need to pay return postage and anticipate sufficient time for delivery for compliance with due date as indicated.

 

How do I access electronic resources off-campus?

You need to start at a University of Iowa Libraries web page in order to be validated through the proxy server.

If you are using health sciences resources, start at the Hardin Library page: www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin

Once you select a resource, you will be prompted to authenticate with your hawk id and password. After entering this information, you should gain full access to the resource. If you experience problems with using your hawk id and password, visit: http://hawkid.uiowa.edu/

It is possible that a firewall may obstruct access to resources. If you are continuing to have difficulty with access after following above directions, try this:

  1. Start at Virtual Private Network: https://vpn.uiowa.edu
  2. Browse to the Hardin Library page and continue.
 

Can I have a librarian perform a literature search for me?

If you are faculty or staff affiliated with the University of Iowa, including UIHC, I can conduct a literature search for you. I will need some details from you; here are a few questions that I usually ask:

  • How comprehensive of a search do you need? If you need a comprehensive search, it is likely best to discuss in person or by phone (and ideally, build the search together).
  • Are you looking for journal information, or are you also interested in web resources, unpublished reports and guidelines, books, etc.?
  • Do you want to apply other limits (English only? Past 10 years? Research?)
  • When do you need it?
  • Do you have preference for result format? Usually, I send electronic folders with links to full text, but can likely send in a format that will best for you if you specify.

Hardin Library does have a web form if you would prefer this method to get started.

 

 

How can I find information about health instruments?

Health instruments, which include questionnaries, psychological tests, checklists, interview schedules (and more!), can be located using the following resources, depending on your area of interest. Most of these resources will provide information about development, reliability and validity, use, and adaptations.

Health and Pyschosocial Instruments (HaPI): Large database of citations about health instruments. Search for specific name of instrument or by  topic.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL): Literature database covering nursing and allied health. Search by title of instrument or topic. Consider using  following limits: questionnaire/scale or research instrument.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print: Contains reviews and information about all English language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology. Tests in print provide information about test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, author(s), administration time, and publication date(s).

Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC): Contains citations from journal and non-journal sources covering education. There are search  terms such as measurement, questionnaire, pain measurement, and surveys, and it also includes the option of searching by a specific test instrument.

PsycINFO: Contains citations covering psychology, linguistics, psychiatry, sociology, and education. Filter available for tests and measures, or search by title of instrument. Platform also contains PyscTESTS, which contains descriptive information about psychological instruments.

Selected Books from Catalog: Available books from UI Libraries. Most contain reviews, descriptive information, and may include segments of the actual instrument.

 

How can I obtain full text of an instrument?

Some test instruments are included in books, journal articles, or online rather than published on their own. Unless otherwise noted, all test instruments are copyrighted, and permission should be sought from the copyright-holder (usually the person who developed the test) before they are used.

Published instruments will need to be purchased from the publisher. Rarely will you find a published instrument freely available. Also, you may need to have specific qualifications to administer the instrument.

Unpublished instruments are developed for research purpose and may be published in entirety in a book, disseration, or article. You would need to seek persmission from the author before using.

For more information on finding and using instruments, visit the following guides:

UI Libraries Tests and Measurements Subject Guide

UI Libraries Blommers Measurement Resources Library Guide

Jennifer DeBerg

Profile Image
Jennifer DeBerg
Contact Info
jennifer-deberg@uiowa.edu
319 335 8554
Send Email
Office Hours:
Daily, hours variable. My office is on 2nd floor of Hardin Library in commons west, room 207 f. You can always stop by to see if I am available, but best to make appointment in advance.
 

Can I have my paper/manuscript reviewed for APA formatting errors?

There is no formal service at the library to review content for APA formatting. I will offer you my opinion for specific questions that arise after consulting APA resources. I usually advise seeking a knowledgeable colleague/classmate for reviewing entire paper/manuscript.

The University of Iowa Writing Center offers guidance to improve your writing skills and learn to edit your own work. They will provide general advice regarding citation style adherence, but will not focus primarily on locating formatting errors.

Are we missing something?

Know of a great resource that is not on this list?  Let us know!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip