Links to medical images & pictures, including several specialties.
Know of a great resource that is not on this list? Let us know!
Some of the images listed on this site are in the public domain, but not all. Before using any image look for a note about copyright. Using images without citing them is considered plagiarism. Also, keep in mind that anything that is published is automatically copyright protected whether it contains the symbol or not. You may be required to ask for permission and possibly to pay a fee before you can use images for publications or presentations. Images that are "free to copy" often have a note on them that states that they fall under a Creative Commons License or are in the public domain.
University of Iowa affiliates -- If you’d like help finding medical pictures on a particular subject, or making a page listing sites in a subject, contact Eric Rumsey.
A tool for differential diagnosis of about 900 diseases (mostly skin-related), with about 16,000 images. These are copyright-protected, and are only to be used within the program.
- HardinMD: Medical Picture Gallery
This site contains a variety of health images from different sites. It also contains a subset of "free to copy" images.
- HEAL" Health Education Assets Library
Free, high-quality digital materials for health sciences education.
- Public Health Image Library
This site contains images related to public health. It is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. Most of the images on this site are in the public domain, but some are copyright protected.
AnatQuest is a web-based interface for viewing high resolution Visible Human anatomical images. These 4096 by 2700 24bit images are created by scanning the 70 mm photographs taken of each slice during the cryosectioning of the human cadavers.
- Biology Image Library
The Biology Image Library is an online collection of images, movies, illustrations and animations across biology and biomedicine.
- eAnatomy: Human Anatomy, Medical Imaging and Illustrations
"e-anatomy is an anatomy e-learning web site. More than 1500 slices from normal CT and MR exams were selected in order to cover the entire sectional anatomy of human body. Only some of the images on this site are freely available.
- Muscle Atlas: Musculoskeletal Radiology
Created by Doctor Michael Richardson at the University of Washington, this online muscle atlas covers the lower and upper extremity, and is primarily designed for use by health science professionals. The site also includes some teaching and instructional materials related to radiology
Our content includes thousands of full-color graphics and charts that you can print or use as slides. Topics can also be printed to use for handouts at lectures or to give to referring physicians within the provisions of our Subscription and License Agreement. http://www.uptodate.com/contents/license
Images can be used for instructional purposes if you create a personal account with ClinicalKey. Simply use the "Presentation" feature once you are logged in and make sure that all the text and copyright material remains intact.
Use the Advanced Search to limit your results to Images. Images can be exported as PowerPoint slides. Text regarding copyright and attribution to AccessMedicine must be retained.
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
319 335 7636Send Email
, Emergency Medicine
, Internal Medicine
, Cardiothoracic Surgery
, Physician Assistant
Have a general library question?
Contact the Hardin Library reference desk