Resources to help you with research for the essays for Intro to Prehistory.
Each of these databases searches a different pool of information.
Depending on which prompt you have chosen, you may need different resources, and you may need to search more than one to find the information you need.
- Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles.
- Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
- Google Scholar
Make sure you're logged in to the proxy server if you use Google Scholar off campus to ensure you can access full-text of articles through the Libraries.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
- ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
This collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
- Web of Knowledge
A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1900-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).