Need Assistance?
If you need assistance with grey literature searching, please do not hesitate to contact us at Hardin Library.
This list is a small sample of the types of resources that cover grey literature in the health sciences.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses- Health and MedicineIncludes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsAn international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations. The NDLTD Union Catalog, which is freely available, contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.
Conference Proceedings
- BMC ProceedingsA journal devoted to publishing proceedings of conferences, including both peer-reviewed full-length articles and collections of meeting abstracts. Content is not restricted to any particular discipline within biomedicine.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary database that contains many conference proceedings.
- EmbaseA biomedical and pharmaceutical database that includes a substantial number of conference records, especially from European journals.
General Resources
These tools are useful for finding a variety of types of grey literature, as opposed to more specific resources listed in boxes below.
- GoogleTry advanced search to improve precision. Use date limits and domain limits if desired. Can also use google to search a specific web site (bottom of advanced search page)
- Grey Literature Report- New York Academy of Medicine LibraryThe Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
- Medline Plus Organization DirectoryA list of health sciences organizations by topic or name. Search individual organizations of interest for reports, conference proceedings, newsletters, guidelines, etc.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- NICE: National Clinical Institute for Health and Clinical ExcellenceContains guidelines and standards of care for the UK.
- Medline Plus Organization DIrectoryA list of health sciences organizations by topic or name. Search individual organizations of interest for reports, conference proceedings, newsletters, guidelines, etc.
Drug Information
- FDA Drug ApprovalsSearchable database of drug, biologic, and molecular entity approvals.
- CenterWatchProvides Information on new FDA approvals and results of clinical trials of new drugs.
- NCI Developmental Therapeutics ProgramInformation from the drug discovery and development arm of the National Cancer Institute. Select "Data Search" on the left-hand side to search the available datasets
Additional Resources
- HSR-Proj: Health Services Research Projects in ProcessContains descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts. It provides access to information about health services research in progress before results are available in a published form.
- Virginia Henderson International Nursing LibrarySpecific to Nursing Research:
Freely available collection of study abstracts, conference abstracts, dissertations, videos and audio files. In addition, researchers may be contacted for more information about how to obtain full-text versions of their study.
Contributors
Jennifer DeBerg,
Hardin Library Clinical Education Librarian
Carol Hollier
Sciences Reference and Outreach Librarian
Brett Cloyd
Social Sciences and Public Policy Librarian
Clinical Trials
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowFree resource containing records to clinical trials in progress in US. It includes intervention and observational study records.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled TrialsContains published articles taken from bibliographic databases and other published and unpublished sources. About three-fifths of the records in CENTRAL are taken from MEDLINE. Link will take you to entire Cochrane Library- collection of 7 databases. Narrowing results to contents of CENTRAL can be accomplished in advanced search.
- CenterWatchGlobal source for clinical trials information, offering news, analysis, study grants, career opportunities, and trial listings to professionals and patients.
Reports and Policy
- AHRQ- Agency for HealthCare Research and QualityAgency for HealthCare Research and Quality site is a good place to locate reports that have to do with patient safety and medical errors, health care quality and cost. AHRQ Is the home to research centers that specialize in major areas of health care research: quality improvement and patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, and more..
- NIH- RePORTERNIH's RePORT Expenditures and Results (RePORTER) query tool provides a listing of biomedical research projects funded by the NIH, with numerous query fields, hit lists that can be sorted and downloaded to Excel, NIH funding for each project (expenditures), and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project (results).
- Open GreySystem for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, provides free access to 700,000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe.
- WHO: World Health OrganizationContains reports and guidelines on public and global health topics.