UI Libraries Resources
Smart Search
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation management and bibliography tool. It can help you to efficiently store, organize, and share citations and easily format them for papers and bibliographies.
- UI RefWorks Information PageFind links to RefWorks, tutorials, and frequently asked questions.
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
- Last Updated Oct 4, 2012
This page will lead you to the basic electronic resources you will need to find music materials and resources.
30 views this year
...
Important Databases
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9] - FRANCIS
A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering the humanities (archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religions), social sciences (administration, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health , sociology) and economics (economy, energy economics, management ). [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9] - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. - JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
HAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles. - Handbook of Latin American StudiesContains scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Covers social sciences and the humanities in alternate years.
- RedALyCProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
- SciELOProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
- DialnetProvides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America. Provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America. Content is primarily in Spanish.
How do I find books and e-books?
Watch this short video for a quick tutorial on using the University of Iowa Libraries' Smart Search.
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the right column of this guide.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Office Hours: Phillips Hall 463: Mondays 1:30-3:00pm, Thursdays 3:00-4:30pm; Main Library: by appointment |
Course reserves
- Course Reserves SearchHere you can search by course instructor, course name, course number, or department in addition to author, title, or call number.
Selected Reference Resources
- Cuba : a global studies handbook Main Library F1788 .H38 2008
- Encyclopedia of Cuba : people, history, culture Main Reference Collection F1754 .E53 2003
- Historical dictionary of Cuba Main Library F1754 .S83 2001
- Memoria : Cuban art of the 20th century Art Library FOLIO N6603 .V45 2002
Recommended links
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC, UT Austin)LANIC is a selective directory of over 10,000 websites from and about Latin America.


Loading...
