Resources for students in Teresa Mangum's class 131:150:001.
- Alexander Street Video
On a single cross-searchable platform, users have a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street video titles that your institution subscribes to or owns, including VAST: Academic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
- Paley Center for Media iCollection for Colleges
Streaming video and audio for programs from the Paley Center’s collection, which includes nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. Programs are added each month as the collection is digitized.
- Academic Search Elite
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
- America: History and Life
Covers the world's scholarly literature in United States and Canadian history. It includes article abstracts from 1700 journals and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. It provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present.
- Education Full-Text
This database covers periodicals, books, and yearbooks concerning the field of education. It has indexing from 1983, abstracts from 1994, and full-text from 1996.
Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9
- JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, political science, philosophy, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR does NOT include full-text of most recent 3 to 5 years.
- Project Muse
With full text for over 300 journal titles from university publishers, covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins 1995.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
A comprehensive index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. This database is available through WilsonWeb and covers the time period from 1890-1982.
- Sociological Abstracts
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 87 document projects with almost 2700 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9
- Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers.
- Des Moines Register
Full-text access to the Des Moines Register from 2002 to present. Documents display in PDF.
- LexisNexis Academic
The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
- New York Times - Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 (New York Daily Times) to 2009. Documents display in PDF.
- Press-Citizen (Iowa City)
Full-text access to the Press-Citizen from 2002 to present. Documents display in PDF.