This is the "Home" page of the "Gender in U.S. History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gender in U.S. History   Tags: 19th_century, american_history, gender, women's_history  

The guide is intended to serve as a resource guide for students in Gender in U.S. History (016:219) with Dr. Leslie Schwalm
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/genderhist Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Microform Guides

  • Media Services Microform Collection Guide
    This annotated index of approximately 250 microform guides stored in The University of Iowa Main Library Media Services Department provides a summary of those holdings that have guides. This numerical index has been arranged as a shelf list, giving the order in which the guides are to be found on the shelf according to accession number. This is only a small portion of microforms available on campus; many microform materials do not have guide books.
  • Microform Sets for Historical Research
    The great untapped source of primary historical materials for history researchers in this area is the vast collection of microform sets held in the UI Libraries and the UI Law Library. This document lists sizable microform sets of potential interest to history researchers. It lists only microform sets that are "sizable," that is, those consisting of more than 6 reels of microfilm, or more than 40 microfiche, or more than 200 microprints or microcards.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

The following illustration of the women's procession shows the banner bearing the slogan of the single women stitchers from Ward One: "American Ladies Will Not be Slaves. Give us a Fair Compensation, and we Labour Cheerfully."

Illustration of Women's Procession on 7 March 1860, Frank Leslie's Illustrated Magazine, 17 March 1860. This illustration and more can be found in the database Women and Social Movements, 1600-2000.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 105 document projects and archives and more 53,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written altogether by about 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

 

      

    Janalyn Moss

    Profile Image
    Janalyn Moss
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip