Select Websites
- The Anthropology of FoodA web journal dedicated to the social sciences of food.
- The Association for the Study of Food and SocietyAn international organization dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society.
- Food History: A Bibliographic DatabaseThe Food Bibliography is an on-line resource providing a growing data base of bibliographic materials for researchers in the field of food history and, more generally, food studies.
- Food TimelineEver wonder how the ancient Romans fed their armies? What the pioneers cooked along the Oregon Trail? Who invented the potato chip...and why? So do we!!! Food history presents a fascinating buffet of popular lore and contradictory facts.
- The History and Legends of Favorite FoodsCheck out some of the many foods that Linda Stradley, of What’s Cooking America, has researched over the years.
PBS Video Collection
This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Podcasts
- Nitty Grits PodcastsNITTY GRITS PODCASTS is a dynamic network of producers, hosts, and authors whose work examines food and drink in all its diversity across America and the world.
Janalyn Moss
Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
319/335-5698
Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts and Cookbooks
- Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts and CookbooksHandwritten cookbooks, circa 1600s-1960s, documenting culinary history in America and Europe and how tastes have changed over the years.