Family Medicine Resources: Mobile Resources

Electronic resources for the Department of Family Medicine.

About Mobile Resources

This page details the mobile resources that are available for all UI affiliates, due to institutional subscriptions. Please contact the guide owner or the reference desk if specific recommendations are needed, or there are problems with access.

UI Subscribed Mobile Resources

AccessMedicine

Description: a collection of clinical tools and electronic textbooks. Contains the following: Quick Medical Dx and RX- evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders most often encountered in medical practice; Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology - a reference tool that facilitates visual diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions with a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases; Diagnosaurus-a differential diagnosis tool with more than 1,000 diagnoses; and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests: A guide that offer quick reference information to assist with selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests and lab procedures.

Available for: Apple and Android devices
How to access:

1.       Go to AccessMedicine via Hardin Library http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/accessmed
2.       Create an account by clicking on the box at the top right of the screen that says “Univ of Iowa Hardin Library.”
3.       Select “Login or Create a Free Personal Account.”
4.       Once you have your username and login, download the app from Google Play or the iTunes App store.
5.       Login with your AccessMedicine Account.

NOTE- You will need to sign in ot the Access Medicine account via the web version of this resource every 90 days for continued access.


Johns Hopkins ABX Guide

Description: provides evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. This comprehensive web and mobile resource organizes details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, quick-read entries.

Available for: Apple and Android devices

How to access: select the following link http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/JHG, and then follow below instructions for installation:

1. Select the link for “Mobile” near the top of screen.
2. You will be prompted to register for a free account.
3. You will receive an email with instructions on how to download the app to your device.


FirstConsult

Description : Provides access to full-text articles from over 80 medical journals and Clinics, 50 leading medical references across a wide range of specialties, clinically relevant drug information, and over 15,000 patient handouts.

Available for: Apple devices

How to access: Start at ClinicalKey from Hardin web site on campus network: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/clinicalkey

1. Visit http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ClinicalKey
2. Click on "Register" link.
3. Enter required data. Your email address will be your username.
4. Confirm your password by re-entering it.
5. Open the app store icon on you device.
6. Search for "First Consult."
7. Click "FREE" then "INSTALL APP."
8. Three options will appear - choose option 1 ("I use First Consult and know my username")
9. Enter your ClinicalKey username and password.‚Äč

NOTE : Because the account needs to be created on campus, you will not be able to install the app if you do not visit campus. This is known problem that library staff will attempt to resolve.


Natural Standard

Description : Contains internationally published evidence-based information about complementary and alternative interventions.
For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence.

Available for: Apple and Android devices

How to access : Please contact Zachary Hastings at Natural Standard for a code to download this resource. His email is zhastings@pletter.com When you receive code, follow the following instructions for installation:

  1.     Go to the App Store on device and download the Skyscape Application (this is free).
  2.     Open the Skyscape Application, Select Tools, and then Install Resources
  3.     You will be prompted to enter the code you received.

DynaMed

Description : A point of care product, also available in a web version from Health Sciences Resources page, containing over 3000 evidence summaries with information on medications, conditions, diagnosis and interventions.
It is frequently updated and easy to navigate.

Available for: Apple and Android Devices

How to access: Contact the reference desk at lib-hardin@uiowa.edu or any librarian for a serial number. After obtained, install the free Skyscape application, and then follow the directions for installation by platform here : http://www.ebscohost.com/dynamed/technical.php

NOTE : Expiration is one year from the date the serial number is initially used to set up DynaMed on the device. You may ask for a new code from the library when your current subscription expires. If you get a new phone or a second device, you will need to get a new number OR have Skyscape move your account. Lastly, it should be noted that DynaMed loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that DynaMed updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information.


Micromedex

Description : A drug information and interaction database.

Available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android, Palm, Pocket PC Pevices

How to access: Visit Micromedex from Hardin Libary site, http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex
Click on “MobileMicromedex” at the top of the page for the instructions/code, depending on your device.

NOTE : After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the quarter. At the end of the quarter, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password. Please remember that free access to the Micromedex Drug Interactions app is for Micromedex customers (The University of Iowa) only-- do not share this password with non-Micromedex customers. Also, Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before use to ensure you have the latest information.


VisualDx

Description: Dfferential diagnosis tool utilizing images. Contains specialist information for more than 900 diseases and offers more than 16,000 related images.

Available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android Devices

How to access:
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click on “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device.” (Located just below the search box)
3. Fill out the required form – receive automatic e-mail with user name and password.
4. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
5. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the App store.
6. Enter the required information into the App.


UpToDate

Description: A point of care medical reference tool, also available in a web version. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts, who synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. Full text content is not directly available from the app interface-- you will need to connect to Wi-Fi or other data source.

Available for: Apple, Android, and Windows 8 devices

How to access:

1.       Access the UpToDate website using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable) via http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate.
2.       At the top right hand side of the page select the “Log In/Register” button.
3.       Register for an UpToDate account preferably using your university email address.
4.       Submit your registration.
5.       Read and accept the terms and conditions.
6.       Install the mobile application on your device.
7.       Open the application.
8.       Input the username and password you chose during the registration process.

NOTE : You will need to log in to UptoDate from your network every 30 days to verify your continued affiliation.


BrowZine

Description: an application intended to improving the browsing and reading experience of UI Library subscribed journal articles on an Apple or Android tablets. After installing the app on your device and signing in with hawk id and password, the tool will allow you to easily browse and access full text of journals.

Available for: Apple or Android tablets.

How to access: Download BrowZine onto your device from the Apple App Store, Google Play, or the Amazon store.  Launch BrowZine, and select University of Iowa from the dropdown list.  You will then be asked to log in with your HawkID and password.

Jennifer DeBerg

Jennifer DeBerg
Contact:
jennifer-deberg@uiowa.edu
319 335 8554
Clinical Education Librarian

iMedicalApps

Loading

Hardin Library Mobile Resources Guide

For much more information on mobile resources, visit the complete Hardin Library Mobile Resources guide.