This is the "EBP Databases" page of the "Evidence Based Practice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evidence Based Practice   Tags: evidence-based_practice, medical_students, medicine  

This page provides information on locating and evaluating literature used to support evidence based practice.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/ebp Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

EBP Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Page

For a full list of EBP Databases, scroll down below the pyramid.

 

Resources for EBP

ACP Smart Medicine
What is it?
The American College of Physicians’ editorial staff screen the top medical journals for high-quality research articles then write structured abstracts highlighting their clinical value.
Highlights: These condensed topic summaries make keeping up with new literature easy.
EBM: Study designs and methodologies are clearly addressed in each critically appraised topic.

ACP Journal Club (Select the first option for American College of Physicians)
What is it? The American College of Physicians’ editorial staff review individual articles.
Highlights: These condensed article summaries make keeping up with new literature easy.
EBM: Study designs and methodologies are clearly addressed in each critically appraised article.

Clinical Evidence
What is it? This electronic book documents the best evidence available (or lack thereof) for treatments and preventative measures.
Highlights: Clearly stated clinical questions; interventions sorted by effectiveness, with tradeoffs between options indicated where appropriate.
EBM: Methodologies of summarized studies are labeled. Overall utility of therapeutic options is noted.

The Cochrane Library
What is it? The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, providing clinicians reliable and current information on the effects of interventions in health care.
Highlights: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are the gold standard of medical literature, providing comprehensive research analyses on a variety of medical treatments; DARE critiques other systematic reviews in a structured abstract format; CENTRAL provides a repository of clinical trial citations.
EBM: The Cochrane Collaboration is world renowned for their quality evidence-based publications.

DynaMed
What is it? A point of care medical reference updated daily by a review of the medical literature.
Highlights: Organized in a structured note format, content is easy to navigate; both overall recommendations and specific study results are included; available for mobile resource download.
EBM: References are provided for recommendations. These references are given a grade based on the level of evidence behind the recommendation.

Natural Standard
What is it?
Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
Highlights: When available, the evidence for using substances for specific uses is provided in a table. Interactions and side effects are also listed. You are able to look up information by desired effect or by therapies.
EBM: Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

National Guideline Clearinghouse (www.guidelines.gov)
What is it? The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. It is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Highlights: Very reliable database of guidleines for physicians, nurses and other healthcare practitioners, with a guideline comparison feature (called Guideline Synthesis).
EBM: Search for guidelines for treatment, intervention, measures and tools.

PubMed Clinical Queries
What is it? Clinical Queries is designed to locate articles in PubMed with higher levels of evidence.
Highlights: Use Clinical Queries to search by study type (etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis or clinical prediction guides) or search for systematic reviews, evidence-based practice guidelines and meta-analyses.
EBM: Clinical trials, meta-analyses and practice guidelines are labeled, but other evidence levels must be self-identified.

PubMed Main Search Page
What is it? This database contains over 19 million citations for biomedical literature. Apply limits for publication types with higher levels of evidence.
Highlights: Gives access to most current medical research including yet to be published materials. Set up an NCBI account to set up alerts and save searches.
EBM: Limit publication types to meta-analyis, randomized-controlled trials, etc.

SumSearch
What is it?
This search enging was developed by the University of Texas Health Sciences Center as a way to quickly search and filter health sciences literature.
Highlights: SUMSearch 2 simultaneously searches for studies (origina studies and systematic reviews), and practice guidelines. Searches for studies are revised up to 6 times as needed, while guidelines may be revised once.
EBM: Uses the Haynes filters in addition to journal lists from McMaster to search multiple resources.

TRIP Database
What is it?  TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) locates the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine.
Highlights:  Provides integrated results from a variety of clinical resources.
EBM: Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.

UpToDate
What is it? A point of care tool written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians. Recommendations are often graded in terms of supporting evidence.
Highlights: Contains over 9,000 topics in 19 specialties.
EBM: Provides a grading system for recommendations that shows whether the recommendation is weak or strong and whether or not there is evidence to support the recommendation.

IDIS: 4.0
What is it? a database of index records to articles about drugs and drug therapy in humans taken from over 200 leading medical and pharmaceutical journals, FDA approval packages, FDA Advisory Committee briefing documents, FDA boxed warnings, AHRQ publications, National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) guidelines and appraisals, clinical practice guidelines and more.
Highlights: The system is designed to retrieve specific information concerning a drug and/or drug treatment of a disease state.
EBM: Descriptors are available for limiting to publication types with higher levels of evidence.

Clinical Education Librarian

Profile Image
Amy Blevins
Contact Info
amy-blevins@uiowa.edu
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
319 335 7636
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shane Wallace
Contact Info
shane-wallace@uiowa.edu
319 335 7085
Hardin Library 207D
Send Email
 

  Get More Help

Have a general library question?

Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

Phone:
319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip