Assignment #2
Turn in an APA formatted bibliography of 6 sources. Using Refworks is encouraged but not required. Your bibliography should include news coverage of your topic during the period July 2009-Nov. 2009. Your bibliography should include ONLY 6 news stories (3 from each news medium over a period of about 3 months). Your bibliography will be evaluated on the basis of source appropriateness, story relevance, and the inclusion of stories from 2 different media for at least 3 different months. **Remember that Internet news sources require prior approval.Assignment #2
Your bibliography is due to Turnitin.com by 10:00 AM on Thursday October 29th. Hard copy due in Lecture.
Types of Media and Sample Titles
News Magazines
For each of the titles listed, click on "Search within this publication," to locate articles on your topic. PDF copies will provide full-text images as the article appears in print. If a PDF is not available, locate the print copy by clicking on InfoLink and then the "Go" button under Library Holdings.
Newspapers
(Click on Newsbank Access World News for recent coverage)
- Chicago Tribune
- The New York Times
- The Washington Post
- The Wall Street Journal (Click on ABI/Inform to search)
For Radio and TV coverage of a story, locate the station's web site, and search for audio and video files. If the web site doesn't have a good search engine, you can limit a search in Google to the web site (e.g. economy site:iowapublicradio.org). This might not work really well because the text of the radio and TV coverage is typically not indexed on web sites.
TV Broadcasts--videorecordings
Television News Archive
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. Individuals may make requests for video tape loans for reference, study, classroom instruction, and research. We offer DVDs or videotapes that are duplications of entire broadcasts as well as compilation tapes of individual news stories specified by the borrower. Borrowers pay fees for the items loaned to cover the costs of providing this service.
Internet News
Google News Seach
You can limit your search to a particular news source. Search sample: Blagojevich site:cnn.com
You can also set up a Google Alert for your search, so that the results come to your email account.
Blogs
Google's Blog search: http://blogsearch.google.com/blogsearch?hl=en
Once you identify a blog, you can set up an email alert for content on your topic.
LexisNexis Academic
For Cable News, Radio, and TV transcripts, search within LexisNexis Academic. You can search for news on your topic, and then use the navigation on the left-hand side of your results to locate cable news, radio, and TV sources.
Another search strategy is to select the Sources tab, type your source into the Find Source box, select your source, and then click OK. Transcripts may help you identify a story that appeared on TV or on the radio, but in order to discuss the medium in which the story was presented, you'll need to find the story in the original format (try TV News Archive, TV stations' web sites and radio stations' web sites).
Cable News--transcripts (LexisNexis Academic)
CNN News
Radio Transcripts (LexisNexis Academic)
NPR
TV Broadcasts--Transcripts (LexisNexis Academic)
Fox News
CBS News
NBC News
Subject Guide |
Ericka RaberReference & Instruction Librarian
Main Library
The University of Iowa Libraries
319-335-5945
Send Email
Reference & Instruction Librarian |
University of Iowa Main Library
319.335.5427
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication Studies, Journalism & Mass Communication
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait