Textbooks
Handbook of Neurosurgery by
The quintessential neurosurgical handbook for day-to-day practice! Now in an updated ninth edition, Handbook of Neurosurgery by Mark Greenberg is synonymous with the most classic neurosurgical handbook published to-date. It has enjoyed legendary status as the go-to manual for legions of neurosurgeons for more than a quarter century. The comprehensive and conveniently compact book brings together a wide range of clinical practice guidelines from disparate sources into an amazing one-stop resource. Renowned for its depth and breadth, the updated text with nearly 1,800 pages encompasses the entire spectrum of neurosurgery including anatomy, physiology, differential diagnosis, and current principles of nonsurgical and surgical management. The text covers a huge scope of inherited, developmental, and acquired neurological disorders impacting pediatric to geriatric patients. The easy-to-navigate print and electronic formats provide an intuitive foundation for studying the field of neurosurgery. Key Features: Boxed summaries, key concepts, tables, practice guidelines, signs/symptoms, and "booking the case" highlight and clarify salient points Thousands of well-organized cross references, index entries, and literature citations provide additional study sources Significant revisions to the tumor section reflect a wealth of up-to-date information including treatments, guidelines, sources, and more The addition of new figures enhances understanding of diseases As with prior editions, this must-have daily reference book does a magnificent job making essential neurosurgical information, current trends, breakthrough research, and reviews readily accessible to all neurosurgeons and allied health practitioners.
Call Number: RD593 .G677 2020ISBN: 1684201373Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Neurological Surgery by
Perfect for anyone considering or training in this challenging specialty, Principles of Neurological Surgery, 4th Edition, by Drs. Richard G. Ellenbogen, Laligam N. Sekhar, and Neil Kitchen, provides a clear, superbly illustrated introduction to all aspects of neurosurgery-from general principles to specific techniques. Thorough updates from leading authors ensure that you'll stay abreast of the latest advances in every area of neurosurgery, including pre- and post-operative patient care, neuroradiology, pediatric neurosurgery, neurovascular surgery, trauma surgery, spine surgery, oncology, pituitary adenomas, cranial base neurosurgery, image-guided neurosurgery, treatment of pain, epilepsy surgery, and much more. Offers comprehensive coverage without being encyclopedic - just the right amount of information for those in training or who need an introduction to the field. Provides a strong visual understanding of the essentials of neurosurgery with abundant high-quality illustrations, including imaging, pathology, clinical and operative photographs, surgical line drawings, diagrams, tables, and figures. Presents information in an easy-to-understand, well-written manner, helping you quickly grasp the principles and problems of today's neurosurgery. Features new and improved videos, more emphasis on anatomy and radiology, and new evidence and techniques, keeping you up to date with the latest advances in the field. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323431408Publication Date: 2018
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques E-Book by
Completely revised under the auspices of new editor-chief Dr. Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa, this comprehensive medical reference examines indications, operative techniques, complications, and results for nearly every neurosurgical procedure. Full-color illustrations, 21 new chapters, internationally-acclaimed contributors, surgical videos, and online access make it a "must have" for today's practitioner. Hone your skills for Mastervirtually every routine and specialized procedure for brain, spinal, and peripheral nerve problems in adult patients. Review clinical information on image-guided technologies and infections. Easily understand and apply techniques with guidance from more than 1,600 full-color illustrations. Rely on the knowledge and experience of new editor-in-chief Dr. Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa and leading international authorities, who offer multiple perspectives on neurosurgical challenges, from tried-and-true methods to the most current techniques. See exactly how to proceed with online surgical videos that guide you through each technique and procedure to ensure the best possible outcomes and results. Apply the latest techniques and knowledge in deep brain stimulation for epilepsy, movement disorders, dystonia, and psychiatric disorders; surgical management of blast injuries; invasive electrophysiology in functional neurosurgery; and interventional management of cerebral aneurysms and arterio-venous malformations.
ISBN: 9781455723287Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Textbook of Spinal Surgery by
Written by experts from around the world, the latest edition of this leading reference features contributions from both neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons. Presenting the full scope of spinal surgery, chapters discuss anatomy, biomechanics, complications, instrumentation, preoperative and postoperative care, and other core topics for surgeons. New chapters detail current surgical techniques for idiopathic scoliosis procedures. Over half of the authors are new--bringing fresh perspectives and approaches to surgical preparation and techniques. Technical procedures are written in an easy-to-follow, step-by-step format. Covers a wide spectrum of spinal deformities, degenerative disorders, injuries, and traumatic conditions. Now with more than 4,000 illustrations--including figures that accurately depict anatomy and procedures, and tables and algorithms for absorbing information quickly.
Call Number: RD768 .T448 2020ISBN: 9781496386489Publication Date: 2019
Benzel's Spine Surgery by
In the latest edition of Benzel's Spine Surgery, renowned neurosurgery authority Dr. Edward C. Benzel, along with new editor Dr. Michael P. Steinmetz, deliver the most up-to-date information available on every aspect of spine surgery. Improved visuals and over 100 brand-new illustrations enhance your understanding of the text, while 26 new chapters cover today's hot topics in the field. A must-have resource for every neurosurgeon and orthopedic spine surgeon, Benzel's Spine Surgery provides the expert, step-by-step guidance required for successful surgical outcomes. Glean essential, up-to-date information in one comprehensive reference that explores the full spectrum of techniques used in spine surgery. Covers today's hot topics in spine surgery, such as pelvic parameters in planning for lumbar fusion; minimally invasive strategies for the treatment of tumors and trauma of the spine; and biologics and stem cells. A total of 18 intraoperative videos allow you to hone your skills and techniques. New editor Michael P. Steinmetz brings fresh insights and improvements to the text.
ISBN: 9780323400305Publication Date: 2022
Rothman and Simeone the Spine by
Get comprehensive, practical coverage of both surgical and non-surgical treatment approaches from the world's most trusted authorities in spine surgery and care. Presents state-of-the-art techniques in both text and video formats, helping you apply today's newest developments in your practice. Highlights critical information through the use of pearls, pitfalls, and key points throughout the text, as well as more than 2,300 full-color photographs and illustrations. Offers a newly revised, streamlined format that makes it easier than ever to find the information you need. Contains new chapters on the clinical relevance of finite element modeling and SI joint surgery. Includes an expanded section on minimally invasive spine surgery, including recent developments and future directions. Provides the latest evidence-based research from high-quality studies, including new randomized controlled trials for lumbar stenosis, surgery, fusion, and injections.
ISBN: 9780323393973Publication Date: 2018
Spinal Cord Medicine by
This is the most comprehensive text available, encompassing the breadth and depth of the field of spinal cord medicine, covering topics from acute medical and surgical management to cutting-edge research, rehabilitation, and psychosocial care. This book was developed for all physicians, research scientists, and other health care professionals involved in the management of individuals with SCI, multiple sclerosis, and other spinal cord disorders. This practical clinical guide is the ultimate single source of information on SCM. It will be especially useful for physicians taking the examination for Subspecialty Certification in Spinal Cord Injury Medicine. Spinal Cord Medicine has 74 chapters written by leaders in their fields, and is divided into sections that include: a review of anatomy and physiology, spinal cord imaging, and epidemiology; acute spinal cord injury management, including prehospital management, emergency room evaluation and intensive care, and considerations relating to spine surgery; overall medical management, including management of respiratory and sleep disorders, cardiovascular dysfunction, infection, endocrine and metabolic dysfunction, and bladder, bowel, and sexual dysfunction; the neurologic aspects of spinal cord care, including the neurologic assessment of SCI, electrophysiological evaluation of the spinal tracts, myelopathies, multiple sclerosis, spasticity and pain management, autonomic dysfunction, and concomitant SCI and traumatic brain injury; musculoskeletal care, including the management of overuse injuries, osteoporosis and long bone fractures, and interdisciplinary approaches to upper extremity and pressure ulcer management; wheelchair and seating assessment, orthotics, activity of daily living training, vocational and driving training, and functional electric stimulation; recent advances in spinal cord research, including functional magnetic stimulation, spinal cord regeneration and repair strategies, and body weight supported ambulation; special topics on aging, women's issues, pediatric care, and SCI prevention; psychosocial issues, cost of care, SCI systems of care, and various supportive environments for SCI and SCD care.
ISBN: 1934559415Publication Date: 2003
Neurosurgical Intensive Care by
An essential reference for the entire neurocritical care team This unique book presents an authoritative guide to the medical and surgical management of complex neurosurgical problems encountered in the critical care setting. It provides straightforward summaries of each stage of patient care, guiding the reader through initial assessment, including ordering the appropriate lab work, triage procedures, such as how to manage patients with multi-system injuries, and sedation and pain management. The book also covers important nursing and medical-legal issues related to neurosurgical intensive care. Features: Guidance on how to manage systemic complications, diseases, and infections Practical review of concepts in neuropharmacology and nutrition, and procedures for fluid management and ventilator management Select case examples throughout the book that supplement discussion of the decision-making process Recommendations for communicating with and caring for the families of neurosurgical intensive care unit patients This comprehensive book provides a wealth of information that is essential for neurosurgeons, intensive care unit nurses, house staff, nurse practitioners, physicians' assistants, residents at all levels, and medical students.
Call Number: RC350.N49 N485 2008ISBN: 9781588903907Publication Date: 2008
Osborn's Brain by
Comprehensive, visually appealing, and easy to understand, Osborn's Brain, second edition, by the highly esteemed Dr. Anne G. Osborn, provides a solid framework for understanding the complex subject of brain imaging when studied cover to cover. Almost completely rewritten and featuring 75% new illustrations, it combines essential anatomy with gross pathology and imaging, clearly demonstrating why and how diseases appear the way they do. The most immediate emergent diagnostic topics are followed by nonemergent pathologies, integrating the most relevant information from Dr. Osborn's entire career of accumulated knowledge, experience, and interest in neuropathology, neurosurgery, and clinical neurosciences. Covers the "must-know" aspects of brain imaging together with spectacular pathology examples, relevant anatomy, and up-to-date techniques in neuroradiology-perfect for radiologists, neuroradiologists, neurosurgeons, and neurologists at all levels Begins with emergent topics such as trauma, nontraumatic hemorrhage, stroke, and vascular lesions, followed by infections, demyelinating and inflammatory diseases, neoplasms, toxic-metabolic-degenerative disorders, and congenital brain malformations Features more than 4,000 stunning, high-resolution radiologic images and medical illustrations, all of which are annotated to describe the most clinically significant features Includes Dr. Osborn's trademark summary boxes scattered throughout for quick review of essential facts, as well as the most recent and up-to-date references available Helps readers think clearly about diagnoses, types of diagnoses, and the various pathologies that can affect the brain Includes new WHO classifications of brain tumors, new entities including IgG4-related disease and CLIPPERS, new and emerging infectious diseases, and updated insights into brain trauma and brain degeneration.
Call Number: RC386.5 .O83 2018ISBN: 0323477763Publication Date: 2018
Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Brain and Spine by
This thoroughly updated two-volume reference delivers cutting-edge information on nearly every aspect of clinical neuroradiology. Expert neuroradiologists, innovative renowned MRI physicists, and experienced leading clinical neurospecialists from all over the world show how to generate state-of-the-art images and define diagnoses from crucial clinical/pathologic MR imaging correlations for neurologic, neurosurgical, and psychiatric diseases spanning fetal CNS anomalies to disorders of the aging brain. Highlights of this edition include over 6,800 images of remarkable quality, more color images, and new information using advanced techniques, including perfusion and diffusion MRI and functional MRI.
ISBN: 9780781769853Publication Date: 2008
Greenfield's Neuropathology - Two Volume Set by
Provides a comprehensive account of the pathological findings in neurological disease, their biological basis, and their clinical manifestations. The book's detailed advice on pathological assessment and interpretation is based on clear descriptions of molecular and cellular processes and reactions that are relevant to the development of the nervous system, as well as its normal and abnormal functioning. The information is presented in an accessible way to readers working within a range of disciplines in the clinical neurosciences, and neuropathological findings are placed within the context of a broader diagnostic process.
Call Number: RC347 .G7 2015ISBN: 9781498721288Publication Date: 2015
Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twentyninth Edition by
A comprehensive, color-illustrated guide to neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical applications Engagingly written and extensively illustrated, Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twenty-Ninth Edition gets you up to speed on neuroanatomy, its functional underpinnings, and its relationship to the clinic. You'll learn everything you need to know about the structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves. This authoritative guide illustrates clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures, explores the relationship between neuroanatomy and neurology, and reviews advances in molecular and cellular biology and neuropharmacology as related to neuroanatomy. The book is packed with case studies and hundreds of visuals--including CT and MRI scans, block diagrams showing muscle actions, root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve images of sensory areas and muscle intervention, and more--to help you retain critical information. Essential for board review or as a clinical refresher, Clinical Neuroanatomy features: * More than 300 full-color illustrations * An introduction to clinical thinking that puts neuroanatomy in clear clinical perspective * A discussion of the latest advances in molecular biology and cellular biology in the context of neuroanatomy * Numerous CT and MRI scans * Block diagrams illustrating actions of each muscle (essential for the clinical motor examination) * Hundreds of diagrams and tables encapsulating important information * Summary listings at the end of each chapter * Clear and memorable root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve illustrations of sensory areas and muscle intervention * Coverage of the basic structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves as well as clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures * Appendices including The Neurologic Examination, Testing Muscle Function, Spinal Nerves and Plexuses, and Questions and Answers * Case studies demonstrating how concepts apply to real-world clinical situations * All the must-know concepts, facts, and structures, and more * A complete practice exam to assess your knowledge
ISBN: 9781260452358Publication Date: 2020
Functional Neuroanatomy by
A Doody's Core Title Superbly illustrated, this core textbook reinforces an understanding of basic neuroanatomical structures by emphasizing their clinical significance in neurologic disease. Featuring a seamless integration of over 400 illustrations within the text, Functional Neuroanatomy includes cross-sectional atlas views of the brain and brain stem, MRI images in three planes, and key concepts identified within each chapter.
ISBN: 9780071408127Publication Date: 2005
Fitzgerald's Clinical Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience by
Utilizing clear text and explanatory artwork to make clinical neuroanatomy and neuroscience as accessible as possible, this newly updated edition expertly integrates clinical neuroanatomy with the clinical application of neuroscience. It's widely regarded as the most richly illustrated book available for guidance through this complex subject, making it an ideal reference for both medical students and those in non-medical courses. Complex concepts and subjects are broken down into easily digestible content with clear images and concise, straightforward explanations. Boxes within each chapter contain clinical information assist in distilling key information and applying it to likely real-life clinical scenarios. Chapters are organized by anatomical area with integrated analyses of sensory, motor and cognitive systems, and are designed to integrate clinical neuroanatomy with the basic practices and clinical application of neuroscience. Opening summaries at the beginning of each chapter feature accompanying study guidelines to show how the chapter contents apply in a larger context. Core information boxes at the conclusion of each chapter reinforce the most important facts and concepts covered. Bulleted points help expedite study and retention. Explanatory illustrations are drawn by the same meticulous artists who illustrated Gray's Anatomy. Each chapter includes accompanying tutorials available on Student Consult. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, images, review questions, and tutorials from the book. Thoroughly updated content reflects the latest knowledge in the field.
ISBN: 0702058327Publication Date: 2021
Neuroscience by
NO E-BOOK AVAILABLE. Neuroscience, Fifth Edition, is a comprehensive textbook created primarily for medical, premedical, and undergraduate students. In a single concise and approachable volume, the text guides students through the challenges and excitement of this rapidly changing field. The book''s length and accessibility of its writing are a successful combination that has proven to work equally well for medical students and in undergraduate neuroscience courses. Being both comprehensive and authoritative, the book is also appropriate for graduate and professional use. Key features of the Fifth Edition: *In addition to new figures, all of the art has been modified with a new color palette and digital enhancements. *All chapters have been updated to reflect current research; new literature citations have been added, as well as new experimental content. Substantial revisions have been made to: Chapter 4, Ion Channels and Transporters, Chapter 6, Neurotransmitters and Their Receptors, and Chapter 8, Synaptic Plasticity; all chapters in Unit IV, The Changing Brain; and all chapters in Unit V, Complex Brain Functions. *Sylvius included with every book *An appendix presenting an illustrated narrative of human neuroanatomy plus annotated atlas plates presenting brain sections from Sylvius RESOURCES For Students Companion Website The Neuroscience companion website features review and study tools to help students master the material presented in the neuroscience course. Access to the site is free of charge and requires no access code. The site includes: *Chapter Summaries: Concise overviews of the important topics covered in each chapter. *Animations: Detailed animations depict many of the key topics presented in the textbook. Topics such as synaptic transmission, resting membrane potential, information processing in the eye, the stretch reflex, and many others are presented in a dynamic manner that helps students visualize and better understand many of the complex processes of neuroscience. *Online Quizzes: Available at the instructor''s discretion (see For Instructors/Online Quizzing below) *Flashcards and Key Terms: Flashcard activities help students master the extensive vocabulary of neuroscience. Each chapter''s set of flashcards includes all the key terms introduced in that chapter. Sylvius: An Interactive Atlas and Visual Glossary of Human Neuroanatomy S. Mark Williams, Leonard E. White, and Andrew C. Mace Sylvius provides a unique computer-based learning environment for exploring and understanding the structure of the human central nervous system. Sylvius features fully annotated surface views of the human brain, as well as interactive tools for dissecting the central nervous system and viewing fully annotated cross-sections of preserved specimens and living subjects imaged by magnetic resonance. Sylvius is more than a conventional atlas; it incorporates a comprehensive, visually rich, searchable database of more than 500 neuroanatomical terms that are concisely defined and visualized in photographs, magnetic resonance images, and illustrations from Neuroscience. Program Components *Surface Anatomy Atlases (Photographic, Magnetic Resonance Image, Brainstem Model): Provide a visual introduction to the location and names of the major external features and subdivisions of the human brain. *Sectional Anatomy Atlases (Photographic, Magnetic Resonance Image, Brainstem and Spinal Cord): Allow the user to explore the internal organization of the brain. *Pathways: Allows students to follow the flow of information in several important long-tract pathways of the central nervous system. *Visual Glossary: Searchable glossary providing visual representations, concise anatomical and functional definitions, and audio pronunciation of neuroanatomical structures. For Instructors Instructor''s Resource Library View samples on the samples page. The Neuroscience Instructor''s Resource Library includes a variety of resources to help in developing your course and delivering your lectures. The Library includes: *Textbook Figures and Tables: All the figures and tables from the textbook are provided in JPEG format (both high- and low-resolution), reformatted and relabeled for optimal readability. *PowerPoint Presentations: A PowerPoint presentation that includes all figures and tables is included for each chapter, making it easy to add figures to your own presentations. *Atlas Images: All of the images from the book''s Atlas of the Human Central Nervous System (which are from Sylvius) are included in PowerPoint format, for use in lecture. *Animations: All of the animations from the companion website are included for use in lecture and other course-related activities. *Quiz Questions: All of the questions from the companion website''s online quizzes are provided in Microsoft Word format. *Review Questions: A set of short-answer review questions is provided for each chapter of the textbook (Microsoft Word format), along with a list of chapter-specific key terms. Online Quizzing Adopting instructors have access to a bank of online quizzes that they can choose to assign or let their students use for self-review purposes. Instructors can use the quizzes as is, or they can create their own quizzes using any combination of publisher-provided questions and their own questions. The online grade book stores quiz results, which can be downloaded for use in grade book programs. (Student access to the quizzes requires instructor registration.)
Call Number: FOLIO QP355.2 .N487 2012ISBN: 9780878936953Publication Date: 2011
Basic Neurochemistry by
Basic Neurochemistry, Eighth Edition, is the updated version of the outstanding and comprehensive classic text on neurochemistry. For more than forty years, this text has been the worldwide standard for information on the biochemistry of the nervous system, serving as a resource for postgraduate trainees and teachers in neurology, psychiatry, and basic neuroscience, as well as for medical, graduate, and postgraduate students and instructors in the neurosciences. The text has evolved, as intended, with the science. This new edition continues to cover the basics of neurochemistry as in the earlier editions, along with expanded and additional coverage of new research from intracellular trafficking, stem cells, adult neurogenesis, regeneration, and lipid messengers. It contains expanded coverage of all major neurodegenerative and psychiatric disorders, including the neurochemistry of addiction, pain, and hearing and balance; the neurobiology of learning and memory; sleep; myelin structure, development, and disease; autism; and neuroimmunology. Completely updated text with new authors and material, and many entirely new chapters Over 400 fully revised figures in splendid color 61 chapters covering the range of cellular, molecular and medical neuroscience Translational science boxes emphasizing the connections between basic and clinical neuroscience Companion website at http://elsevierdirect.com/companions/9780123749475
ISBN: 0080959016Publication Date: 2011
Other Textbooks
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology 11th Edition by
The definitive guide to understanding, diagnosing, and treating neurologic disease - more complete, timely, and essential than ever A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology is truly the classic text in its discipline --- a celebrated volume that guides clinicians to an in-depth understanding of the key aspects of neurologic disease, including both clinical and new scientific data. This meticulously revised and updated text remains the masterwork in its field, and the most readable reference available. Within its pages, you will find a disciplined presentation of clinical data and lucid descriptions of underlying disease processes. Some of the features that have made this resource so renowned: * The most cohesive and consistent approach to clinical management - acclaimed as the most readable book in the literature * A scholarly approach that gives readers a comprehensive overview of every neurologic illness * Unmatched coverage of signs and symptoms * A focus on the full range of therapeutic options available to treat neurologic diseases, including drug therapy and rehabilitation methods * Coverage of the most exciting discoveries and hypotheses of modern neuroscience that bear on and explain neurologic disease * Puts the latest scientific discovery into a larger clinical context * An evenness of style and a uniform approach to subject matter across disciplines that allows a quick and easy review of each topic and condition * A rich, full-color presentation that includes many high-quality illustrations The Eleventh Edition is enhanced by new coverage of : * Interventional therapies for acute ischemic stroke * Novel immunotherapies used to treat inflammatory and neoplastic conditions, and neurotoxicities associated with these drugs * New drugs to treat epilepsy and multiple sclerosis * Update of genetics of inherited metabolic disease * Current understanding of the genetics of primary nervous system malignancies and their bearing on treatment
ISBN: 9780071842617Publication Date: 2019
Clinical Neurology, 10th Edition by
The classic text that covers both the basic and clinical aspects of neurology - updated with the latest therapeutic advances A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Since 1989, Clinical Neurology has helped students, residents, and clinicians understand the link between basic neuroscience and current approaches in diagnosis and treatment. Applauded for its practice-oriented approach to neurology based on the patient's presenting symptoms, this full-color resource delivers the clearest and most efficient introduction to the field available today. As with each new edition, the authors have retained and refined the instructional material relating to the function of the nervous system in health and disease and have updated the text with the latest diagnostic and therapeutic advances. Recent discoveries in molecular biology and immunology have led to the approval of new drugs for the treatment of multiple sclerosis (alemtuzumab), spinal muscular atrophy (nusinersen), amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (edaravone), and Huntington's disease (deutetrabenazine). These and other therapeutic advances are included in this new edition. Presented in full color, Clinical Neurology is enhanced by chapter outlines that facilitate a quick review of each topic, an emphasis on the neurologic examination and history taking as the cornerstone of diagnosis, and treatment protocols that reflect the most recent advances in the field. If you are in need of a clear, well-written introduction to neurology as practiced on the wards and in an outpatient setting, your search ends here.
ISBN: 9781259861727Publication Date: 2017
Patient-Based Approaches to Cognitive Neuroscience by
NO E-BOOK AVAILABLE. A review of current developments in cognitive neuroscience that integrates data from behavioral, imaging, and genetic studies of patients with research-oriented cognitive theories. The cognitive disorders that follow brain damage are an important source of insights into the neural bases of human thought. This second edition of the widely acclaimed Patient-Based Approaches to Cognitive Neuroscience offers state-of-the-art reviews of the patient-based approach to central issues in cognitive neuroscience by leaders in the field. The second edition has been thoroughly updated, with new coverage of methods from imaging to transcranial magnetic stimulation to genetics and topics from plasticity to executive function to mathematical thought. Part I, on the history and methods of cognitive neuroscience and behavioral neurology, includes two new chapters on imaging, one covering the basics of fMRI in normal humans and the other on the functional imaging of brain-damaged patients, as well as updated chapters on electrophysiological methods and computer modeling. Part II, on perception and attention, includes new chapters on visual perception and spatial cognition as well as attention, visual, tactile, and auditory recognition, music perception, body concept, and delusions. Part III, on language, covers many aspects of language processing in adults and children, including reading. Part IV discusses memory and prefrontal function, including semantic memory and executive functions. Part V covers dementias and developmental disorders, among them Alzheimer's and Parkinson's diseases, mental retardation, ADHD, and autism, and includes a chapter on the molecular genetics of cognitive disorders.
Call Number: RC341 .B4242 2006ISBN: 0262562138Publication Date: 2005
Imitators of Epilepsy by
Many patients referred for an epilepsy evaluation actually suffer from one of many conditions that can imitate it. Imitators of epilepsy are a diverse group that involve consideration of many areas of internal medicine, neurology, and psychiatry. The most important imitators of epileptic seizures are dizziness, vertigo, syncope, complicated migraine; and somewhat less frequently sleep disorders, transient cerebral ischemia, paroxysmal movement disorders, endocrine or metabolic dysfunction, delirium, psychiatric conditions or transient global amnesia. Clearly under-recognized are hyperventilation episodes, panic attacks, and other psychogenic and psychiatric paroxysmal disorders that may simulate epileptic seizures. This volume provides a comprehensive review of the differential diagnosis of seizures: how do the imitators of epilepsy present clinically, what are their particular distinguishing historical features, and what tests are helpful with diagnosis?. Expanding beyond the first edition, this second edition is divided into four sections. The first deals with an introduction and approach diagnosing spells, the electroencephalography of epilepsy and its imitators, and specialized tests of diagnosis such as measurement of serum prolactin. There are chapters on epileptic seizures that do not look like typical epileptic seizures, and conversely, apparent epileptic seizures that are not. A second section approaches imitators of epileptic seizures along age-based lines; i.e., what sorts of spells are likely to beset infants, children, or the elderly? A third section addresses individual imitators of epilepsy, ranging from the common to the rare, from dizziness and faintness to startle disease, arranged according to whether they might simulate partial, generalized, or both types of epileptic seizures. The volume finishes off with hyperventilation syndrome, psychogenic seizures (with or without epilepsy), and panic disorders. Most chapters review the basic definitions and physiology of the respective imitator, followed by the clinical characteristics. Emphasis is given to those features that may differentiate it from an epileptic event, but also mark it for what it is, and give possible criteria for an alternate diagnosis. Case vignettes are used to illustrate particular aspects, along with tables that compare and contrast phenotypically similar conditions. Based on their extensive clinical experience, the authors provide a personal perspective on diagnosis and treatment.
ISBN: 9781934559192Publication Date: 2005
Parkinson's Disease by
Parkinson's disease (PD) is the second most common neurodegenerative disease in the world. Still the only major text on the subject, the completely revised and updated second edition of Parkinson's Disease: Diagnosis and Clinical Management comes at a time when specialists have made important advances in our understanding of the etiology, pathogenesis, investigation, and management of Parkinson's disease. The book includes 23 completely new chapters, and has updated information on: Genetics Pathology Biomarkers Pathogenesis Impulse control disorders in Parkinson's disease Updated outcome measures Complementary and alternative medicine for the treatment of Parkinson's disease Together the chapters form a comprehensive review of the many issues facing PD physicians today. Lucid and easily readable from beginning to end, each chapter may also stand on its own as a scholarly review of the individual subject. Each one is concisely written and heavily referenced for this purpose. The second edition of Parkinson's Disease: Diagnosis and Clinical Management provides a state-of-the-art review of where we've been, where we are now, and where we are going in treating this disease."
ISBN: 9781933864006Publication Date: 2007
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition by
An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: * Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes * Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders * Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies * Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making * Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED
ISBN: 9780071840613Publication Date: 2017
The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by
"This 12th edition of the most authoritative book in pharmacology is the best both in content and physical appearance....This edition of Goodman & Gilman's continues to be the most authoritative and widely used resource bridging the discipline of pharmacology with therapeutics. Moreover, readers will find this edition to be substantially improved from past editions in both content and physical appearance."--Doody's Review Service The most universally respected and read medical text in all of pharmacology, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. Enriched by a new full-color presentation and updated to reflect all critical new developments in drug action and drug-disease interaction, the twelfth edition includes more than 440 color illustrations depicting key principles and actions of specific pathways and therapeutic agents. The companion DVD includes all the images and tables in the text along with narrated animations. Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 12e is divided into nine sections, covering: General Principles Neuropharmacology Modulation of Cardiovascular Function Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis Endocrine Pharmacology Gastrointestinal Pharmacology Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases Special Systems Pharmacology More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
ISBN: 9780071624428Publication Date: 2018
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by
NOT CURRENTLY AN E_BOOK. Author Biography Dennis Kasper, MD is Professor of Medicine at Harvard and a leading researcher of the health and disease implications related to host-microbe interactions and the human microbiome. Anthony Fauci, MD is Director of the National Institutes for Allergy and Infectious Diseases, and recipient of the Lasker Prize for Medicine. He is a leading authority in HIV and AIDS, immunology, and management of Ebola Virus Disease. Dan Longo, MDis Deputy Editor, New England Journal of Medicine and Professor of Medicine, Brigham and Women''s Hospital/Harvard Medical School. Dr. Longo is a highly regarded cancer specialist. Stephen Hauser MDis Robert A. Fishman Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology, UCSF School of Medicine. He is a leading authority on multiple sclerosis. J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhDis Robert G. Dunlop Professor of Medicine, Dean, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, and Executive Vice President, University of Pennsylvania Health System. Joseph Loscalzo MD, PhD is Hersey Professor of the Theory and Practice of Medicine, Harvard Medicine School and a leading authority in many aspects of cardiovascular medicine. The landmark guide to internal medicine has been updated and streamlined for today''s students and clinicians Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison''s Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison''s provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Presented in two volumes: Volume 1 is devoted to foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; Volume 2 covers disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men''s Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more Increased number of the popular Harrison''s clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full color; crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Access to outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, and more Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison''s patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, the book''s several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison''s: "Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text. The accompanying DVD includes extensive video and image collections of pathology, histology, procedures, additional lectures, and radiology......Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. " Doody''s Review Service reviewing the previous edition of Harrison''s
ISBN: 9780071802154Publication Date: 2015
Mary Thomas
Mary Margaret Thomas
she/her/hers
Contact:
207A HLHS
Hardin Library for Health Sciences
Hardin Library for Health Sciences
(319) 467-0722
Key Resources
- Clinical Neuroanatomy A comprehensive, color-illustrated guide to neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical applications Engagingly written and extensively illustrated, Clinical Neuroanatomy, Twenty-Ninth Edition gets you up to speed on neuroanatomy, its functional underpinnings, and its relationship to the clinic. You'll learn everything you need to know about the structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves. This authoritative guide illustrates clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures, explores the relationship between neuroanatomy and neurology, and reviews advances in molecular and cellular biology and neuropharmacology as related to neuroanatomy. The book is packed with case studies and hundreds of visuals--including CT and MRI scans, block diagrams showing muscle actions, root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve images of sensory areas and muscle intervention, and more--to help you retain critical information. Essential for board review or as a clinical refresher, Clinical Neuroanatomy features: * More than 300 full-color illustrations * An introduction to clinical thinking that puts neuroanatomy in clear clinical perspective * A discussion of the latest advances in molecular biology and cellular biology in the context of neuroanatomy * Numerous CT and MRI scans * Block diagrams illustrating actions of each muscle (essential for the clinical motor examination) * Hundreds of diagrams and tables encapsulating important information * Summary listings at the end of each chapter * Clear and memorable root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve illustrations of sensory areas and muscle intervention * Coverage of the basic structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves as well as clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures * Appendices including The Neurologic Examination, Testing Muscle Function, Spinal Nerves and Plexuses, and Questions and Answers * Case studies demonstrating how concepts apply to real-world clinical situations * All the must-know concepts, facts, and structures, and more * A complete practice exam to assess your knowledge
- Functional Neuroanatomy A Doody's Core Title Superbly illustrated, this core textbook reinforces an understanding of basic neuroanatomical structures by emphasizing their clinical significance in neurologic disease. Featuring a seamless integration of over 400 illustrations within the text, Functional Neuroanatomy includes cross-sectional atlas views of the brain and brain stem, MRI images in three planes, and key concepts identified within each chapter.
- Spinal Cord Medicine This is the most comprehensive text available, encompassing the breadth and depth of the field of spinal cord medicine, covering topics from acute medical and surgical management to cutting-edge research, rehabilitation, and psychosocial care. This book was developed for all physicians, research scientists, and other health care professionals involved in the management of individuals with SCI, multiple sclerosis, and other spinal cord disorders. This practical clinical guide is the ultimate single source of information on SCM. It will be especially useful for physicians taking the examination for Subspecialty Certification in Spinal Cord Injury Medicine. Spinal Cord Medicine has 74 chapters written by leaders in their fields, and is divided into sections that include: a review of anatomy and physiology, spinal cord imaging, and epidemiology; acute spinal cord injury management, including prehospital management, emergency room evaluation and intensive care, and considerations relating to spine surgery; overall medical management, including management of respiratory and sleep disorders, cardiovascular dysfunction, infection, endocrine and metabolic dysfunction, and bladder, bowel, and sexual dysfunction; the neurologic aspects of spinal cord care, including the neurologic assessment of SCI, electrophysiological evaluation of the spinal tracts, myelopathies, multiple sclerosis, spasticity and pain management, autonomic dysfunction, and concomitant SCI and traumatic brain injury; musculoskeletal care, including the management of overuse injuries, osteoporosis and long bone fractures, and interdisciplinary approaches to upper extremity and pressure ulcer management; wheelchair and seating assessment, orthotics, activity of daily living training, vocational and driving training, and functional electric stimulation; recent advances in spinal cord research, including functional magnetic stimulation, spinal cord regeneration and repair strategies, and body weight supported ambulation; special topics on aging, women's issues, pediatric care, and SCI prevention; psychosocial issues, cost of care, SCI systems of care, and various supportive environments for SCI and SCD care.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
This link opens in a new window
