Licensed Online Videos - Most popular
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowCustom online libraries of streaming videos from a variety of studios on a variety of subjects. UIowa can subscribe to individual titles upon request.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowStreaming video titles, mostly feature films or television, the University of Iowa has licensed from the Swank Digital Campus collection of videos.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThe Films on Demand platform hosts both the World Cinema collection as well as other subscribed titles from Films Media Group.
- Feature Films for Education Collection This link opens in a new windowIn partnership with Global Eagle, this collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films. The University of Iowa's collection includes the Docuseek2 Complete Collection™: Second Edition of 1,800 exclusive documentaries, as well as numerous other titles.
- Alexander Street VideoAcademic Video Online (a large, multidisciplinary video product with nearly 17,000 videos and continuing to grow), along with individual discipline collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
Acknowledgement
Thanks to deg farrelly from Arizona State University for allowing us to use information from his LibGuide: http://libguides.asu.edu/StreamingVideo
Finding UI's Online Video
InfoHawk+ - the UI Libraries' catalog and discovery tool - includes many formats of information. Once you have searched for your topic, use the following filters to limit your results to video that can be streamed online.
♦Full Text Online to limit only items available online.
♦Audio Visual to limit only to sound and video files in the catalog.
♦Video to limit only to video files in the discovery tool.
♦Turning off Sound Recording to remove sound files from the catalog.
While we add most streaming video resources to InfoHawk+, streaming video from Swank Digital Campus, which focuses on Hollywood films, can not currently be added and must be searched separately.
To add videos to your online class, please see the Streaming Video in Icon (Course Reserves) tab.
- UI streaming videos are generally intended for academic and classroom use and not licensed for public performance. Check the public performance tab to learn more about using streaming video for student organization events and other non-classroom uses.
- Search for streaming video in our library catalog and also Swank Digital Campus for a comprehensive search of our streaming video collections. While we add most streaming video resources to InfoHawk+, streaming video from Swank Digital Campus, which focuses on Hollywood films, can not be added.
- Instructors - Use UI Libraries Course Materials+ to add streaming video to ICON. We will be able to update links and troubleshoot access problems if needed and ensure the videos can be accessed by HawkID away from campus.