This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The new unified database with about 85.500 titles has been developed by the Berlin State Library in cooperation with the Maison des Sciences de l´Homme, Paris. For the years 1975-1990 EBSEES is available in printed form only. Work on adding records to EBSEES ended in 2007, and no further editing will take place after December 2007. The end date for each country’s contribution varies.
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
• Covers world history excluding US and Canada; can cross-search with America: History and Life • Content coverage dates back to 1450; publications indexed from 1955-current • Scholarly and popular publications
Provides full-text searchable access to back issues of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR contains ONLY back issues and does NOT include the most recent 3-5 years.
• PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. • Contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, etc.
• Archive of the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences • Broad subject base, deep chronological coverage; going back over 200 years in some cases • Includes the citations for articles published in 4600+ periodicals
Full text for over 300 journal titles from university publishers, covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins 1995.
When you have the citation for an article, and you'd like to locate the full-text, try the following options.
From within a database, select InfoLink to be guided to full-text options, including print copies and interlibrary loan/document delivery services.
Under Find Resources (above), select e-journals and search for the journal/magazine/newspaper title in your citation. InfoLink will guide you to full-text options.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Books, journal articles, and other research materials not owned by the University of Iowa Libraries can usually be borrowed from other libraries.
Article Delivery Copies of journal articles and book chapters from a title held in any University of Iowa library (with the exception of Law and the Curriculum Lab) can be scanned and delivered to your desktop.
Google Scholar Google Scholar will match its results with what we have available through UI Libraries' subscriptions. Set your scholarly preferences to the UI Libraries for off-campus use. Try several search strategies to view your topic from various perspectives.
Note: Google Scholar does not search all of the UI Libraries' databases. Not everything in Google Scholar is scholarly.