Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Global Health 

Resources for Global Health students and faculty
Last update: Sep 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/globalhealth  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Library Quick Links

 

Hardin Library

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

 

Health-Related Databases


  • Global Health (1973-present)  
    Provides references to a broad collection of journal articles, books, research reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health reports, developing country information, and other difficult-to-find materials.
  • Global Health Archive (1910-1972)  
    Extends the Global Health database of journal articles, books, research reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health reports, etc., back to 1910.
  • PubMed  
    Covers the international literature in biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine. Includes links to full text articles when possible.
  • CINAHL Plus  
    Provides references to articles from over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health (including physical therapy, occupational therapy, & sports medicine), going back to 1937. Includes links to full-text when available.

International Development/Social Science Databases

  • Columbia Earthscape: An Online Resource on the Global Environment  
    On-line full-text access to a wide range of resources in Earth-systems science, including papers, conferences, journal abstracts, books and databases.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  
    Designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, NGO occasional papers series , foundation-funded research, conference proceedings, etc., from 1991 on.
  • Human Rights Watch  
    An independent, nongovernmental organization, supported by contributions from private individuals and foundations worldwide, and dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
  • JSTOR  
    Provides full-text searchable access to back issues of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR contains ONLY back issues and does NOT include the most recent 3-5 years.
  • Social Services Abstracts  
    Inclurdes research 1980 to the present in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    Provides article abstracts from 1800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present, with links to full-text when available.
  • SourceOECD  
    Online source for full-text books, articles, and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
  • World Bank e-Library  
    Provides searchable access to all current and recent World Bank publications. Topics include economics, poverty, legal issues, education, social issues, and much more.
  • CountryWatch  
    Provides country-specific information and data, including comprehensive and regularly updated overviews called CountryReviews and current news from the countries covered.

Regional Databases

Other Useful Resources

 

Library Liaison

Profile ImageJanna Lawrence


Contact Info:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
319-335-9870
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait