Books
Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology
Digitized copies of the BAE Annual Reports at Gallica
Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution began publication in 1881, though the Bureau at the time (and its reports) did not have "American" in its title. That was added to the series in 1897. The reports ceased with number 48 of the new series, published for 1930/31.
Main Oversize FOLIO E51 .U66 no.200
The North American Indian, being a series of volumes picturing and describing the Indians of the United States and Alaska
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.
Main Oversize FOLIO E77 .C97 1907a
Handbook of North American Indians
A 20-volume encyclopedia summarizing knowledge about all Native peoples north of Mesoamerica, including cultures, languages, history, prehistory, and human biology. Standard reference work for anthropologists, historians, students, and the general reader. Chapters by the main authorities on each topic. Area volumes include separate chapters on all tribes. Heavily illustrated, extensive bibliographies, well indexed. Each volume may be purchased and used independently.
Main Oversize FOLIO E77 .H25
Main Reference Collection FOLIO E77 .H25
Smithsonian Institution. Annual report. (Indexes)
Government Publications Q11 .S6612 1963a
Annual report of the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution.
Government Publications Q11 .S6
A to Z of Native American Women
This unique reference source features more than 100 fascinating profiles of notable Native American women from the 1500s to the present. Detailed entries include biographical sketches, photographs, descriptions of individual challenges and accomplishments, and recommended reading for each woman profiled.
Main Reference Collection E98.W8 S65 1998
Journals
- The American Indian QuarterlyThe complexity and excitement of the burgeoning field of Native American studies are captured by the American Indian Quarterly, a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal of the anthropology, history, literatures, religions, and arts of Native Americans. Wide-ranging in its coverage of issues and topics, AIQ is devoted to charting and inciting debate about the latest developments in method and theory.
- American Indian culture and research journalIn print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and the general public. The premier journal in Native American studies, it publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
- American AnthropologistAmerican Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings, and exhibits.
- Anthropological papers of the American Museum of Natural HistoryThe Anthropological Papers, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians. Several illustrious anthropologists published their work in the Anthropological Papers, as well as many past and present curators of the AMNH Division of Anthropology. Prior to 1930, large special reports were published in the Memoirs.
- EthnohistoryEthnohistory emphasizes the joint use of documentary materials and ethnographic or archaeological data, as well as the combination of historical and anthropological approaches, in the study of social and cultural processes and history. The journal has established a strong reputation for its studies of the history of native peoples in the Americas and in recent years has expanded its focus to cultures and societies throughout the world.
Databases
- American West This link opens in a new windowOver 300 manuscripts- ranging from the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon, and a twelve page letter of General Custer, to the logbook of a cattle trail driver and the Hinman papers describing the overland trail to California and the Gold Rush. A host of extremely rare or unique ephemeral material including advertisements, claim certificates, cheques, photos, wanted notices and news-sheets. Maps - an important and underutilised resource for teaching the American West - partly due to their size and unwieldy nature - partly due to their rarity. Includes many unique or extremely rare items - ranging from extra-illustrated volumes and association copies to city directories and pamphlets and leaflets.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
- ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Contains the complete contents of Religion Index One (journal literature in religion from 1949-present), Religion Index Two (multi-author works, such as Festschriften, conference proceedings, and other volumes of collected articles and essays, 1960-present), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion. Included are article citations from some 650 journals and essay citations from over 14,000 multi-author works as well as book review citations.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Indexes works from the sixteenth century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and U.S. and Canadian government publications. Areas covered include native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research. This bibliography, from Human Relations Areas Files (HRAF), contains the citations from the cumulative eight volumes of the Ethnographic bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowPrimarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal NarrativesSearch within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases. Returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
- Native Health DatabaseThe Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowA compilation of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. When complete, the database will include 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, presenting the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Coverage: 1677 to present.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 This link opens in a new windowThe Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 34,000 pages.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowA set of learning modules in the form of mini-monographs, each of which is organized around a specific question about a single social movement. Each module contains fifteen to twenty documents that address the question.
Additional Sources
First Gov - http://www.firstgov.gov/Government/Tribal.shtml#vgn-land-and-the-environment-vgn
American Women's History: A Research Guide American Indian Women Middle Tennessee State University http://frank.mtsu.edu/%7Ekmiddlet/history/women/wh-indn.html#bibliog
National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian) http://nmai.si.edu/home/