E-Journal Search
PubMed
Drug Monographs
NOTE: Some resources (designated as COP-Affiliated) are only available
to faculty, staff, and students affiliated with the University of Iowa
College of Pharmacy.
- American Hospital Formulary Service
AHFS provides detailed and heavily referenced drug monographs. - Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research
CBER provides information on the approval and regulation of biological and related products including blood, vaccines, allergenics, tissues, and cellular and gene therapies. - Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
The CDER website contains information on drug approvals, labeling, side effects, equivalency, and withdrawals. - Clinical Pharmacology (COP-Affiliated)
Clinical Pharmacology provides drug monographs and multiple tools designed to help users find and compare drugs and check for interactions. - Drugs Facts and Comparisons (COP-Affiliated)
Facts and Comparisons provide drug monographs, specific information on nonprescription drugs, natural products, and other topics in addition to offering tools designed to help you identify drugs and check for interactions. - Lexi-Comp (COP-Affiliated)
Lexi-Comp provides detailed drug monographs with sections focusing on pediatric/geriatric drug use, natural medicines, poisoning/toxicology and other topics. Tools are available to help with checking drug interations and identifying drugs. - MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series (COP Building and Hospital Only)
MicroMedex contains detailed drug monographs as well as specific sections on reproductive risks, alternative medicines, diseases, toxicology, and other topics. A PDA version is available. For off-campus access, contact Jonathan Koffel. - NLM Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal allows you to search several NLM/NIH drug information resources at once. They include PubMed, Toxnet, PubChem, ClinicalTrials, and MedlinePlus.
Herbs and Supplements
Some resources (designated as COP-Affiliated) are only available to faculty, staff, and students affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database includes information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements. - Herbal Interaction Facts (COP-Affiliated Only)
Available through Facts and Comparisons, Herbal Interaction Facts lists interactions between herbals and pharmaceutical agents. - Herbal Links
Provides a list of natural product monographs and websites produced by various government, non-profit, and commercial groups. - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database
The International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements. - National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
NCCAM is produced by NIH and provides information on a wide range of alternative therapies, including herbal products. - Natural Standard
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. - Review of Natural Products (COP-Affiliated Only)
Available through Facts and Comparisons, Review of Natural Products provide information on the use, dosing, and studied efficacy of different natural products.
Jonathan Koffel |
Jonathan KoffelContact Info:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
600 Newton Road
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-9731
Send Email
Subjects:
Pharmacy, Anesthesiology, Pharmacology
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
600 Newton Road
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-335-9731
Send Email
Subjects:
Pharmacy, Anesthesiology, Pharmacology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait