Guide for Summer class for middle school students
- Lonely Planet
Popular series of travel guides for sale, but the Thorn Tree discussion boards might have some interesting info.
- U.S. State Department Travel pages
Contains travel warnings, business information and other general information for Americans traveling abroad.
- U.S. Peace Corps Passport blog.
Blogs from Americans serving abroad as Peace Corps Volunteers. They have a two year commitment and get to know their local communities well. Disclaimer: I'm a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer and like to promote the organization.
Advice for working overseas but includes good information about Cultural Advice section may be useful.
- Academic Search Elite
General database covering newspapers, magazines, academic journals and other sources. Can limit by geography.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Covers topics in media, news and culture.
- Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
Archive Finder Icon
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciencesand the Main Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or ProQuest. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. as far back as 1985. Provides access to consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, Clinical reference systems reports, and includes Clinical pharmacology, which provides access to information for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products, and new drugs.
- MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson's Senior High Core Collection is selective list of books recommended for grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains well over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers.