Hardin Library Resources
General Professional Associations
Are we missing something?
PubMed
Other Databases
- CochraneThe Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, providing clinicians reliable and current information on the effects of interventions in health care. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are the gold standard of medical literature, providing comprehensive research analyses on a variety of medical treatments
- DynaMedA point of care resource designed to answer clinical questions. Updated regularly and uses evidence rating system to assist clinicians with making decisions. Available for download to mobile device; contact reference desk for assistance.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesSearch by Clinical Study Category: This feature enables a quick search for different study types: etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Always use the narrow, specific search for a reasonable number of results.
Tools to Consider for Support of EBM
ACP Pier
The American College of Physicians’ editorial staff screen the top medical journals for high-quality research articles then write structured abstracts highlighting their clinical value. Study designs and methodologies are clearly addressed in each abstract.
Clinical Evidence
This electronic book documents the best evidence available (or lack thereof) for treatments and preventative measures. There are clearly stated clinical questions, and interventions are sorted by effectiveness, with tradeoffs between options indicated where appropriate. Methodologies of summarized studies are labeled, and overall utility of therapeutic options is noted.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, providing clinicians reliable and current information on the effects of interventions in health care. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are the gold standard of medical literature, providing comprehensive research analyses on a variety of medical treatments; DARE critiques other systematic reviews in a structured abstract format; CENTRAL provides a repository of clinical trial citations.
DynaMed
A point-of-care medical reference updated daily by a review of the medical literature. Organized in a structured note format, content is easy to navigate; both overall recommendations and specific study results are included; available for PDA download.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (www.guidelines.gov)
The National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. It is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
PubMed Main Search Page
Use this basic search for quick access to general research. The Review tab will limit to overview or introductory articles. Use the "All Child" Limit to restrict results to pediatrics.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Search by Clinical Study Category: This feature enables a quick search for different study types: etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Always use the narrow, specific search for a reasonable number of results.
Find Systematic Reviews: Quickly find gold standard evidence-based medicine. This search will find:
- Systematic Reviews
- Meta-Analyses
- Practice Guidelines
TRIP Database
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) is a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine. Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.
UpToDate
A practical clinical information service designed to provide access to information needed at the point of care. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence or best practices and provide detailed recommendations. Sometimes it is challenging to distinguish recommendations based on evidence versus recommendations based on consensus or expert opinion.
Other Tools
- Wheeless' Textbook of Orthopedics
- Orthopedics Knowledge OnlineA searchable collection of materials provided by American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons and other partnering organizations.
- Surgical Procedure VideosCollection provided by MedlinePlus.
- Human Anatomy Learning ModulesDartmouth Medical School produces this site including radiographs, images, and dissection videos.
- View Hardin Library EBP ResourcesA complete subject guide providing general information about formulating clinical questions, tools for critical appraisal, and a complete list of Hardin Library EBP databases.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Get More Help
Have a general library question?
Contact the Hardin Library reference desk
Phone: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
Interactive Anatomy Resources
- Hardin Simulation CenterHardin has many simulation devices available to help practice basic skills. A list of those available can be found by clicking on this link.
- Cyber Anatomy 3DThis interactive software allows students to dissect and explore the human anatomy in 3D.
- Anatquest:Anatomic Images OnlineThe U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project has produced high resolution (4096 x 2048 x 24 bits) cryosectional color images of human anatomy. The Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications, an R&D division of the NLM, through its Communications Engineering Branch, has created a database for this image dataset as well as for 3D rendered images of anatomic objects created from cryosectional images (cross-sections or slices).
- E-anatomy: Human anatomy, medical imaging, and illustrationsThis website allows users to see images and illustrations of various parts of the anatomy. Several portions can be accessed for free while some others require a subscription. Registration is also required.
- Google BodyGoogle provides a 3D model of the human body. Using this program you can look at various parts of the anatomy and share what you are seeing with others by copying the URL. Must have google chrome or another compatible browser installed on computer.
- Human Anatomy OnlineAllows the user to pick a body system and click on various parts to learn more about it.
- The Visible Human Project®The Visible Human Project® is an outgrowth of the NLM's 1986 Long-Range Plan. It is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals. Source: National Library of Medicince Website
- eSkeletonseSkeletons allows users to select a skeleton and view various bones including morphology, insertions, and origins of these bones. There is also a PDA source available for download. Source:University of Texas at Austin
- Inner BodyThis free website provides labeled images of different parts of the human body including skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, etc.
- The Second Look Series
The Second Look series is free a self-review and evaluation tool for learners who are about to take a histology quiz or exam. The files review the important material in a concise question style. For best use, open the file within the Power Point program and run it as a slideshow. Also available for the iPad (but only connective tissue comes free and preloaded).


Submit

Loading...
