This is the "Home" page of the "American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Studies  

Last Updated: May 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/amstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Resources:

 

  • American West  
      
    Over 300 manuscripts-ranging from the original journal and papers of James Audubon, and a twelve page letter of Gen. Custer, to the logbook of a cattle trail driver and the Hinman papers describing the overland trail to California and the Gold Rush.
  • The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974  
      
    brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
 

Smart Search


Smart Search allows you search a variety of University of Iowa Libraries resources at once.
 

Archive Finder

Archive Finder including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland

Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Powerful searching integrated with detailed subject indexing helps researchers to uncover historical collections.

American Memory

"Main Street, Iowa City, Iowa" (Feb, 1940)

Arthur Rothstein, photographer

Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, FSA/OWI Collection [REPRODUCTION NUMBER:  LC-DIG-fsa-8a13053 DLC]

The images in the Farm Security Administration-Office of War Information Collection are among the most famous documentary photographs ever produced. Created by a group of U.S. government photographers, the images show Americans in every part of the nation. In the early years, the project emphasized rural life and the negative impact of the Great Depression, farm mechanization, and the Dust Bowl. In later years, the photographers turned their attention to the mobilization effort for World War II. The core of the collection consists of about 164,000 black-and-white photographs. This release provides access to over 160,000 of these images; future additions will expand the black-and-white offering. The FSA-OWI photographers also produced about 1600 color photographs during the latter days of the project.

Janalyn Moss

Profile Image
Janalyn Moss
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip