Databases
- ABI/Inform Global Search nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984-
- Academic Search Elite This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
- Access World News Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and Des Moines Register.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. - AP Images (was: AP Photo Archive)
AccuNet/AP multimedia archive contains the current photo report from Associated Press and a selection of images from their negative and print library. - Editor and Publisher: Online Media Directory Editor & Publisher's research department has developed a database of all media with a Web presence. You will find associations, city guides, magazine, newspaper, news services and syndicates, radio and television web sites in the database.
- Electronic Newspapers of Sub-Saharan Africa: African Newspapers Union List Project
Compiled by Columbia University Libraries, this list of online newspapers (available without subscription) is part of a larger, on-going effort, AFRINUL, "a union list" of African newspapers held by research libraries in North America. - Ethnic News Watch Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Factiva Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
- FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting FAIR, the national media watch group, offers criticism of media bias and censorship.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996 The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, FBIS is an index foreign media reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. FBIS includes full-text English-language and English-language translations of radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements.
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
The International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) provides a freely accessible database of bibliographic information for more than 20,000 newspaper titles from participating institutions. - Issues and Controversies (Facts on File) Published by Facts on File News Services, this database contains information about the most debated issues of the day.
- Kiosken: Comprehensive List of World Newspapers KIOSKEN has links to news media all over the world, mainly to newspapers in the countries' own language(s).
- LexisNexis Academic The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available.
- Local News Index Local News Index, produced by the Iowa City Public Library, provides indexing for local newspapers and magazines including the Press Citizen, Daily Iowan, Little Village, Icon, Iowa City Magazine and Gazette and portions of the Cedar Rapids Gazette.
- Newslink An index of all known online national, state, international, and campus newspapers.
- Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
- Roll Call "The Newspaper of Capitol Hill," Roll Call since 1996 has offered this companion Web edition to the newsprint version. A source for Congressional news and information, it posts leading stories, editorials, election news, commentary, cartoons, etc.
- Television News Archive
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player. - TWST.com: The Wall Street Transcript Investment information for the USA and abroad. Vols. 1+ (from June 10, 1963- ) also on microfilm.
- World News Connection WNC is an online news service of non-U.S. media sources provided by the National Technical Information Service.
- World News Digest (Facts on File) A complete archive of the Facts on File World News Digest dating back to 1940, updated weekly with current news provided by Reuters. Includes an extensive full-text collection of biographies, historical documents, editorials, and background articles.
Janalyn Moss |
Janalyn MossContact Info:
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
319-335-5698
Send Email
Subjects:
American History, African American Studies, American Studies, American Indian and Native Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait