Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

News and Newspapers  Tags: news newspapers  

Last update: Oct 01st, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Historical Newspaper Collections             Print Page
  

Proquest Historical Newspapers

The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Users can cross-search titles. Click on Databases Selected link, scroll down to Historical Databases, put a check in the box of all the titles you would like to search, then click Continue.

Historical Digital Newspaper Collections

  • C19, The Nineteenth Century Index  
    Provides integrated bibliographic coverage of over over 1.3 million books and official publications, and 10 million articles published in over 2,000 journals, magazines and newspapers.
  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  
    This database consists of the British Library's collection of the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney.
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers  
    This database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
  • 19th Century Historical United States Newspapers  
    Full-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
  • 19th Century Masterfile  
    A vast "Index of Indexes" for historical research prior to 1925. Includes Poole's index to Periodical Literature, Stead's Index to Periodicals, Jones and Chipman's Index to Legal Periodical Literature, Richardson's Index to Periodical Articles in Religion
  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century  
    Complete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
  • British Newspapers  
    A digital historic newspaper archive: Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera, and National & Regional papers from the British Isles.
  • Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online  
    The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived from 1960 to 1963. Phase I, which can be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.
  • Chicago Defender (Black Studies Center)  
    The full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender is available through the Black Studies Center site. It includes the Saturday edition (1910 to 1975) and the Daily edition (1956-1975).
  • The Civil War : A Newspaper Perspective : November 1860-April 1865  
    Full text of articles taken from issues of The New York herald, The Charleston mercury and the Richmond enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Includes news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements, and biographies. Also includes articles describing other than military concer
  • Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876  
    Includes images and full-text content from scores of historical publications. Based mainly on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and concentrating on publication starts pre-1820.
  • Historical Newspapers Online  
    Includes Palmer's Index to the Times (London Times), The Official Index to the Times, The Historical Index to the New York Times, and Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870.
  • The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985  
    Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.
  • World Newspaper Archive  
    Searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Forthcoming are African, European, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and Southeast Asian newspapers.
 
 

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)

http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait