This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology and Contemporary World Problems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology and Contemporary World Problems  

This guide is to help with the diet assignment for 113:010:AAA Spring 2013.
Last Updated: Aug 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/contemporaryworldprob Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

I thought I knew all about bacon...

Local sources

The following are all food-related organizations in the Iowa City area.

Databases

  • Academic Search Elite  Icon  Icon
    This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Agricola  Icon
    Accesses NAL's Online Public Access Catalog and Journal Article Citation Index. NAL is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural Library an its cooperators.
  • Business Source Complete  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Find articles in over 1200 business journals, as well as find company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
  • Census of Agriculture
    USDA census of agriculture in the United States.
  • Food and Drug Administration -- Food
    Find all kinds of government information about food safety, nutrition, and other topics.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon  Icon
    Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information.
  • National Agricultural Statistics Service -- USDA
  • ProQuest Environmental Science Collection  Icon
    This collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
  • PubMed  Icon  Icon  Icon
    PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
    Provides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology and related fields, from 1952 to the present. Look here for information about labor/social issues.
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program
    Find information about endangered plants and animals.
  • Web of Knowledge  Icon
    A citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1900-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
 

Books in the Libraries

These books are all good places to get background information on your topic. 

Cover Art
Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients - Ikhlas A. Khan; Ehab A. Abourashed
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9780471467434
Publication Date: 2009-11-23

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food - Dennis R. Heldman; Dallas G. Hoover; Matthew B. Wheeler
Call Number: Engineering Library FOLIO S494.5.B563 E53 2011
ISBN: 9780849350276
Publication Date: 2010-07-16

Cover Art
An A-Z of Food and Drink - John Ayto; Alan Davidson (As told to)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 0192803522
Publication Date: 2002-06-20

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition - David A. Bender
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 0198609612
Publication Date: 2005-04-28


Janalyn Moss

Profile Image
Janalyn Moss
 

Smart Search

The University of Iowa Libraries
institution = University of Iowa Librariesinstitution code = UIOWA
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip