Proquest Historical Newspapers
The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Users can cross-search titles.
- Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1931-2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1910 - 1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1849 - 1988
- Guardian and The Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage The Guardian: (1821-2003)
Coverage The Observer: (1791-2003) - Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1934-2005
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Los Angeles Times, 1881-1999 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage 1881-1988
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1922-1993
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1851-2008
- Pittsburgh CourierCoverage: 1911-2002
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1889-1994
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1877-1995
- Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874-2003 (Proquest Historical newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Historical Digital Newspaper Collections - U.S.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
- African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowIncludes Series 1 (1827-1998) AND Series 2 (1835-1956). Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers is a record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle OnlineThe Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived from 1960 to 1963. Phase I, which can be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.
- Chicago Defender (Black Studies Center)The full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender is available through the Black Studies Center site. It includes the Saturday edition (1910 to 1975) and the Daily edition (1956-1975).
- Daily Iowan Historic NewspapersDating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2 ,3 ,6, and 7, 1690-1922Includes images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
- The LilyThe Lily, one of the first newspapers for women, spans 1849 to 1856. Available through Accessible Archives
Gale NewsVault
- Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new windowGale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale’s range of historical newspaper and collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple products owned by the University of Iowa Libraries. Includes the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Part I; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.
Google News
- Google News Archive SearchHundreds of newspapers covering over 250 years.
**In May 2011, Google announced it will no longer be accepting, scanning, and indexing microfilm and other archival material from newspapers.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Farm, Fields and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection
- Farm, Fields and FiresideFrom the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this collection is a repository of digital facsimiles of historic agricultural newspapers published in the United States.To date, the repository contains more than 230,000 pages of farm newspapers, with another 70,000 pages in the works. More titles will be added to the repository as funding becomes available.
Other Newspaper Collections
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
- LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
